We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't find anything wrong & was highly pleased, until...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl South Padre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pearl South Padre to your Saves list
Pearl South Padre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Galveston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't find anything wrong & was highly pleased, until...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I pulled up to the hotel and was chased down by the bellman in a golf cart offering a ride to the front desk. Excellent. I then checked in, late on a Wednesday, and was upgraded to a king suite by the great front desk ladies. The room was fantastic, the bellman carried luggage to room and retrieved ice for me. I couldn't find anything wrong, so I went looking. The only thing I could find was a peice of chipped tile in the sitting room (minor). Changed into swim trunks and hit the pool.
Awesome. Hot tub, perfect, pool temp, great as it was divided between warmer water at the swim p bar and cooler in the main pool. Staff, cleanliness, beach amennities, all great, until it was time to sleep. It was the absolute worst mattress I had ever slept on period. I sunk so deep in that bed it was like sleeping on a "V" I even went out and tried to sleep on the tiny sofa.
Never slept. bad headache. Isn't the bed the reason we pay a hotel? O.k., I'm venting because I was mad. In their defense, I looked over the balcony in the morning and saw new mattresses being loaded into their dock area. I hope they have the mattresses changed out now because I would like to recommend this hotel and use it again as the people and venue are great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    181
    152
    105
    77
See reviews for
298
266
14
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

You will truly enjoy the size of the rooms. The food is ok. Service could be better. Not sure if its because Im so spoiled by hotels out of the states that tend to give better service. Overall it is nice.

Room Tip: get a room that has a view of the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The staff at the Pearl South Padre were exceptional. All were very friendly and accommodating. Location was wonderful - beachfront - with a short walk via boardwalk to the beach. The pool, hot tub, swim up bar were all very nice.

We only ate one item from the restaurant, and it was quite tasty. Bar drinks, on the other hand, needed some improvement. Our drinks were mediocre and overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the Pearl during Memorial Day Weekend, only planned on staying 2 night but stayed an extra night. I had mixed feeling after reading some of the bad reviews but don't know what people could complain about. The hotel staff was very, very friendly all the time. Even know many guests were tracking sand and water through the hotel, they were always on top of it, mopping the areas. I can only describe the beds as sleeping on fluffy white clouds, SO comfortable. I will say the pull out couch is not comfortable at all. I will be returning I was so pleased with the staff, food, location, and price. They even provided lemonade and cookies to watch fireworks over the bay one evening, what a wonderful surprise. My friend and I brought our little dogs and they were very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Mr. & Mrs. Lou Vasquez Mesquite Tx. 5/22/13 - 5/25/13

My wife and I went to Padre to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. We hadn't stayed here since it was the Sheraton but we decided to check out the Pearl after all these years, considering we had been coming here for the past 18 years. We were not disappointed!! From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with a friendly greeting and alot of familiar surroundings but with a fresh new look. our room was on the 9th floor looking over towards the bay and of course the gulf. it had a very nice view since we always use to stay overlooking the pool and the room was just awesome and of course those wonderful beds. To mine and my wife's surprise we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries courtesy of Ms. Lisa Garcia and the Pearl staff. And on Friday we were treated to dinner in the hotel by the asst., mgr. Raul!!
Of course everything else was as we remembered since this place has so many wonderful memories for me and my family. my wife and I just reminisced about all the times we spent with our own children and even our grandchildren. The Pearl did not disappoint but delivered everything my wife and I were hoping for. THANK YOU staff for making our stay another one for the memory book.
We plan to celebrate our 25th Silver Anniversary here next year with a renewing of vows and ALL our children and Grandchildren here. Thank You once again for helping us create new memories. God Bless

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had a training seminar for Court here and was very pleased. First time in South Padre. It was cloudy & rainy. I was a little confused when I got there because I wasn't sure where check in was. Once I found it everything was great. The lady who checked me in was Very friendly. Check in was fast and accurate. I had booked an extra night before and they made it so I didn't have to move the next night with my group. The beds were awesome!!!! Room was clean. We were served lunch while at our training by the hotel and it was great. Had a great view from my balcony of the ocean. It was a great trip next year I will stay the whole week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is NOTHING like the pictures. It is old, dirty, and uncomfortable. There is no ac in the common areas...and it was very hot. The bed linens had holes and stains. It was a very, very bad experience. I will not sty there again and certainly would not recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pearl South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl South Padre

Address: 310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl South Padre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the island's southern tip, the Pearl South Padre is a premier oceanfront resort for families and couples who want to experience tranquil views and soft sand beaches in South Texas. Warm rays of sunshine and tropical breezes await your arrival. From the moment you drive down the palm tree lined brick road and discover our lush landscaping and pristine beaches, you'll know why the Pearl South Padre is South Texas' "Best on the Beach" resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Pearl South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Sheraton
Sheraton South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl South Padre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.