We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pearl has committed Identity Theft” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl South Padre

Save Saved
You added Pearl South Padre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pearl South Padre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Schlitterbahn Package
Ranked #10 of 32 hotels in South Padre Island
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pearl has committed Identity Theft”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We thought the visit went well until I checked my account online and saw the hotel charged my bank card (I had paid cash for the hotel stay in full) $681.00 on a card they were never authorized to charge at all!!! They apologized for the mistake but now the hotel manager Cesar Canto never returned my phone calls and they made multiple mistakes with my bank. There are a couple of staff members that are nice, but you will risk the problem I had. Stay away and try another hotel - my life has been impacted due to all the charges, bounced checks from the $681 putting my account in the negative from the identity theft!

Room Tip: The manager is absent from this hotel, and your card may get charged without your knowledge and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    154
    133
    94
    66
See reviews for
259
212
8
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is in a nice location with great beach access. The room is nice with a balcony and has tiled floors. The food in the restaurant is very good. The Sunday Brunch is a local favorite. The pool is nice. There is a spa in the Sapphire complex next door/same parking lot/walking distance...I have never used it but it may appeal to some. This hotel used to be a Sheraton. I stayed here for 2 weeks waiting to close on my new house. I had no complaints. I thought the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had another wonderful, enjoyable visit at the Pearl. We had reservations at another hotel that after seeing it, checked out and returned to the Pearl. We stayed again on the 12th floor this time with a full ocean view. It was absolutely beautiful. We had a minor issue with a smell while we were there but the engineer came to check the situation out and everything was fine. We enjoyed another wonderful Sunday morning brunch in the restaurant on site. The food and the service was outstanding. We will again return to this facility in the future. All of the staff make you feel welcome and the atmosphere is warming.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you returned to the Pearl and we hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to the island as well. We regret you experienced a minor issue during your stay but we are happy to hear it was promptly resolved by the staff. We're delighted you enjoyed the brunch and that overall our staff made you feel so welcome and we look forward to seeing you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just spent out second weekend at The Pearl. Our first one was after we were married as a "mini-honeymoon". After being greeted by warm employees at the front desk, we were asked if we had stayed there before. We told them yes, and that it was our one year anniversary. After a quick check-in (we booked through Priceline), we arrived in our room. As usual, it was spotless and the view was amazing. Not more than 10 minutes later was a knock on the door. A smiling gentleman had brought up champagne and chocolate covered strawberries complimentary of the hotel. It was a wonderful surprise. That now makes TWO great stays we've had at the Pearl.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielDelk, Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Pearl for your anniversary celebration! We are delighted to hear that the staff provided such a wonderful surprise after check-in and warm service throughout your stay. We hope to celebrate many more special occasions with you at the Pearl South Padre in the years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The way the food and beverage manager addressed his staff in front of the guest needs an improvement.He was out of line and tense because of our inconvenience. He seemed a bit off. I believe he was a director. The staff was great. Our server was aramis and he was phenomenal! Our hostess Sulmy was fabulous and courteous. Edward ( the supervisor) was superv and most of all, he was hands on and always had a smile .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My daughter and I ate dinner here in October, and although we were the only people in the restaurant (it was off season), we were well attended and the food was absolutely delicious. We had crab cakes and an exquisite mango salad. Staff were very friendly and were able to take a peek at the guest areas, which were nicely appointed, and the multi-varied pool was clean and and nicely landscaped. The hotel features a spa with many types of services. I'll be coming back here as a guest as soon as the weather warms up. This is my idea of a getaway hotel. Reminded me of my vacation in Cancun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The bed was nasty bathroom nasty. When laying in the bed you will be stuck in one spot smells like pee. Bathroom tub will fill up when you take a shower you have to stop the water so it won't leak on the floor. The maids and restaurant staff out standing, They are doing their best with what they are provided. Need more training at the desk. Be ready to be mistreated if you don't book through the hotel. They need to have better attitudes so you would book through the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pearl South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl South Padre

Address: 310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl South Padre 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the island's southern tip, the Pearl South Padre is a premier oceanfront resort for families and couples who want to experience tranquil views and soft sand beaches in South Texas. Warm rays of sunshine and tropical breezes await your arrival. From the moment you drive down the palm tree lined brick road and discover our lush landscaping and pristine beaches, you'll know why the Pearl South Padre is South Texas' "Best on the Beach" resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Pearl South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Sheraton
Sheraton South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl South Padre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.