We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals who really used to enjoy the Sunday brunch” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl South Padre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pearl South Padre to your Saves list
Pearl South Padre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off! Book Now & Save!
Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Locals who really used to enjoy the Sunday brunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We did not stay at the hotel, as we are locals. We LOVED coming to the Sunday brunch fairly frequently. Most of the wait staff know us. Much to our surprise when we tried to go in May, they prices were raised A LOT. We already felt it was a little overpriced, but the food was so good, we continued to go. Now unfortunately it is just not worth the price, especially for me since I do not eat any seafood whatsoever! I feel the locals should be cut a break since we are the ones who you know will definitely be patronizing the brunch regularly. Cut out some of the salads or desserts to save money, but please lower the prices!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    218
    165
    114
    82
See reviews for
330
313
14
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This was a business trip for my husband and my daughter and I tagged along to go the beach. The first night was not so great. We were put in a bay side room on the 11th floor that shared a balcony with 2 other rooms so other people had access to your stuff on the balcony as well as being able to see in the room if you left the curtains open. Nice view of both ocean and bay sides but no fridge, coffee maker, etc that should have been there. The room service tag said a pot of coffee was 5.00. So I ordered one for the morning because I had no coffee maker. It ended up costing 12.00. I believe that should have been taken care of because of the room ammenities not being available. We went down the next day to discuss the room problems and were told we could move rooms but it would take awhile. In the mean time we decided to book one of the condos online and cancel the other room. The condo is nice and roomy with great views. Not sure it is worth the price we are paying for it.(best prices are online) One of the bathrooms has mold on the ceiling and the plaster is peeling off. The toilet handle is loose even though it appears new. The furniture looks new except the patio furniture is rusting and yucky. The kitchen is okay, could use a few necessary things- hot mitts and a baking sheet- other than that it was pretty well equiped.
Beach- dirty- lots of trash on the beach and the rental service took up the entire area in front of the hotel.- 30.00 a day extra to have 2 chairs and an umbrella- take your own!
Pool- very cloudy water and always full of sand while the one next to us is clear and beautiful- ran out of towels-

pool bar staff not efficient or friendly: stand there and wait for a drink
Hot tub- full of sand and did not work well

The wait staff in the resturant was varied. Some times the service was terrible and sometimes it was okay- food was good-not fantastic
Spa- good luck! only open when we could not go
Internet was intermittent
Overall- will not come back-

Room Tip: 2 bedroom condo has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PearlSouthPadre, Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Pearl South Padre Hotel. We are working at ensuring that our guest experience is improved and reviews such as this give us the areas where we need to make those improvements. We appreciate your candid review, and hope that if you return to South Padre Island, you reconsider and join us again to see the improvements that have been made. Thank you for your time and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Arrived 16 JUNE 2011, upon check in i was hit with a $50.00 incidental fee per day that added a $150.00 to my bill right away. Room was ok, no blanket or pillow for sofa bed. We brought our own just in case. No one came to clean our rommuntil we complained and they arrived at 5:30PM, We had just came frome the beach and had got our own at the front desk. We ate lunch at the food bar next to the pool, which a cheeseburger was $7.00 each, which was ok until i had to pay $6.50 for 3 cans of soda. People were standing around dirty tables and the chair that were there were broken and falling apart..

The main lobby floor was very slippery at all times, someone is going to fall. The last night we stayed there was wedding on the floor below us and the music was very loud until midnight, we called the front desk and the said that there was nothing they could do. At check out time I told the clerk and she said that she would tell the Manager. I would expect at almost $200.00 a night including tax for better service and accomadations.

THOMAS A DWYER UNITED STATES NAVY

THOMAS.A.DWYER@NAVY.MIL

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PearlSouthPadre, Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The $50 charge for incidentals per night is something we do have listed on both our website as well as the third party sites where our rooms are sold. This is an authorization only when placed on a credit card, however if you do use a debit card, this does come out of the account right away. I have passed your feedback along to the rest of our executive team to ensure we are able to address these issues so they are not repeated. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you when you return to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We booked the largest room there is for two families, there were four adults, a baby and a teenager in all. I loved the kitchen, all new appliances with a granite counter top. This used to be a Sheraton, so you can get an idea, it's not high end luxury but definitely ok, I would go back. We also got a great price for the room. Free internet service was non existent at night, didn't try the restaurants so cannot comment. I agree with an earlier review, the pool needs to be cleaned way more often for the large number of people in it (specially kids).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback, as it does allow us to understand what needs to be improved to allow us to have a flawless stay for our future guests. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return so you can see the improvements for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I'm not sure about similar alternatives in Padre Island but next time I'll be looking for something else. The hotel is getting old and doesn't look anything like the pictures they have on-line. Overall there is a sense of poor management and missing attention to detail. Bars run out of supplies for days i.e. Beer, food, lemon, sodas, etc, Chairs at pool side bar in disrepair. Room service trays are left for days in the hallways, internet or TV interruptions, dirty rooms and restrooms, dirty looking bar side pool, slow response to requests, small roaches in the rooms!!! Small details that can not be blamed on the old hotel, but on lack of management. Old mattresses make sleeping not so nice.

On the other hand great location and access to the beach, nice employees, pool side bartenders are very social, Pools are nice if you don't swim at the pool side one. It looks like it use to be a great hotel but time and management have taken a toll on it. Covered parking is great.

Padre Island in general looks old, so I'm not sure about alternatives. It's also kind of pricey for what you get. I'm not sure I'll return anytime soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for your review. We have recently changed from the Sheraton to the Pearl South Padre, and our new management is working to ensure that the issues you experience are not repeated for future guests. We do apologize that you were not able to enjoy your time with us fully, and hope that if you do return to the island, you can see the improvements we have made. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

From the moment we got there the valet workers were very courteous and had a happy greeting. The front desk was a lady and a man and they had a smile all the time and were working as a team to make sure we got registered quickly. The room was very clean, nice and relaxing. We had trouble with our message system on the telephone and called the front desk. A maintenance "lady" showed up at our room within 5 minutes. She noticed that the phone jack was the problem and gave us an option to work correct the problem then or wait until we were gone. We asked her to take care of it now and she did within 1o minutes and called the front desk to make sure it was working properly. It was, wow. It was great and we can't wait to go back. By the way I work in the "Tourist" industry so I am not easliy impressed. I will plugging Pearl South Padre to everyone I know as will my wife.

Room Tip: Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
We appreciate the kind words and are glad to hear that even when you had a small issue, the staff ensured it was fixed in a timely manner. Our number one priority is ensuring that the experience you had will be repeated by every guest who comes through our doors. Thank you and Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I stayed at the Pearl South Padre with two of my friends from Wednesday thru Saturday. The front desk staff was very friendly upon arrival, and I was able to check-in two hours early. We had a surf-side as well as bay-side view from our balcony! The beds were very soft and comfortable, which I loved. However, my friend who prefers firmer beds said the bed made her back hurt. Be careful in the shower... there is a soap dish at eye level, and two of us ended up smacking our heads pretty good on it. Even five days later, I still have a goose-egg on my forehead. Although the hotel is located right on the beach, we hung out at the pool almost the entire time because the grounds are just beautiful! Unfortunately, the swim-up bar is only open on Friday thru Sunday so that was disappointing. It was also swarming with kids, so we got splashed a lot. We ate for lunch at the hotel restaurant one day which was reasonably priced and had tastey food. I highly recommend going out on the island to get good seafood. We went to Louie's Backyard one night and had a great, although pricey, seafood buffet. On Friday nights at 9 p.m. there is also a fireworks show! If you want to be safe and not drive if you plan on drinking, the cabs are very affordable... only $3 per person to get anywhere on the island! Over all, this was a great vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for a good view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for letting us know about your great stay at the hotel! The Poolside bar is now open 7 days a week through Labor Day to ensure that you are able to fully enjoy your stay. We hope that you are able to join us again soon, and we will see you when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pearl South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl South Padre

Address: 310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl South Padre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the island's southern tip, the Pearl South Padre is a premier oceanfront resort for families and couples who want to experience tranquil views and soft sand beaches in South Texas. Warm rays of sunshine and tropical breezes await your arrival. From the moment you drive down the palm tree lined brick road and discover our lush landscaping and pristine beaches, you'll know why the Pearl South Padre is South Texas' "Best on the Beach" resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pearl South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Sheraton
Sheraton South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl South Padre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.