We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Isla Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Isla Grand Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good place to stay on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

You never know what you are going to get when the units are individually owned, and we were pleasantly surprised! Stayed in room 909 and it was really good. Clean, uncluttered and everything worked. All of the staff was very friendly and responsive.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    115
    71
    58
    64
See reviews for
185
109
8
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bastrop, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Recently booked a room for my daughter and her friends with Mathew. He was very informative, polite and helpful. I had spoken with Mary Lou and Liz previously and found them to be the same way. They were all very reassuring as to the focus on safety. Mathew took extra time to explain all that the resort had to offer and I truly appreciated it. Have fun on Spring Break Girls !!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here midweek for a short trip in December 2013. I found a great price on Orbitz.com, much cheaper than the hotel offered me. Our room was quaint with a cute bathroom and oceanview. The pool was under construction, which was a little disappointing. The breakfast in their restaurant was delicious but a little expensive.

Room Tip: Check around the travel websites for a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have stayed at the Isla Grand twice, both times were for continuing education seminars. I would say that the hotel is average, nothing too spectacular. Rooms are dated and have that lovely hotel smell. The grounds are nice and the view is great. Fortunately my stay was paid for by my employer, otherwise I would not pay full prices to bring the family and stay a few days, much less make the 6 1/2 hour trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We sincerely apologize you were not fully satisfied with your room on your recent stays. We have been working on the remodeling of our rooms and our property. We have made a lot of upgrades and updates. Thank you for this valuable information on our resort. Hopefully you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

i Stayed at the Isla Grande at South Padre Island and was not very impressed. The only thing that was nice was the view of the ocean. No hot water in our room. No bulbs in lamps in rooms but in one lamp Called maintence a few times and still no one came to replace, bed was real hard , I also did not like the idea that we would go outside as soon as you would step out of our room.,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We sincerely apologize about all the issues during your stay. We can assure you we take all these issues very seriously and they will all be addressed with the appropriate department heads. We really hope you will give us another opportunity to prove ourselves as the top resort in South Texas. We appreciate that you took the time out of your day to give is this valuable feedback on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for 5 days in December. We found the room to smell musty and was dated. The Select Comfort bed did not work. It was completely flat on one side. The ice maker did not work (nor did the ones in the vending area). The TV reception was intermittent at best. The beach outside the property was full of crushed beer cans and even some broken glass! For the most part the staff was indifferent.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We sincerely apologize about your experience us during your stay. We have been working hard to improve our property. During the time of your stay we were actually in the middle of upgrading our internet and Satellite services. We have also addressed all the other issues with the appropriate departments. Hope fully you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the near future. We really appreciate you taking time out of your to this most valuable information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just got back from staying a week in one of the condo units in the tower at the Isla Grand. We had a great time and we will probably go back, but there were issues. Here is a list of the good and not so good.

The Good

The grounds are the best on the island. The pools are beautiful. The smaller pool is heated during the winter and it is about as big as the main pool at most of the hotels on the island.

The location is just right over the causeway so it is very convenient to go to Port Isabel to HEB or Walmart.

The staff was very friendly. The maids and front staff always had a smile.

The staff that kept up the grounds were always working. They started first thing in the morning and kept improving things all day.

Our condo was pretty good. The space was big enough and the kitchen was well stocked. The TV in the second bedroom didn't work though, and the main TV went out quite a bit.


The Not So Good

The gym SUCKS!
I saw this on an earlier post but I didn't really believe it. It is really bad. The hotel is very large and there were only 2 treadmills, and one didn't work. You also have to walk outside a ways to get there, which is a problem in bad weather. This could be a deal breaker in our decision to return. The gym in The Pearl is so much better. Working out for me is a must on vacation. If the weather had been warmer I would have just gone running, but the rain and cold meant the gym was the only option. And the gym was also dirty. Cleaning it and stocking it with towels seemed to be an afterthought.

There is only one coin operated washing machine and dryer on every third floor. The hotel was only about 10% full while we were there, but I can just imagine the crowds during the summer. Condo vacations for me usually mean easy access to a washing machine and dryer. For the winter it was fine, for the summer probably not. The area was also pretty dirty.

The ice machine on our floor didn't work. We had to go 3 floors down to get ice.

The common spaces in the hotel need a serious update. I have been going to Padre for years and the common spaces in the Isla Grand still look the same as they did many years ago.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We sincerely apologize that we were unable to fully satisfy you during your stay with us. We are glad to see there are more positives than negatives. However we want to be your place of choice when coming to South Padre Island. We are taking all your negative comments and we will address them with the appropriate department heads. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you very much for this valuable information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and TravelClick so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.