We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Isla Grand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Isla Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Play Package
Ranked #13 of 33 hotels in South Padre Island
McAllen
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the Isla Grand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I really love the restaurant food was awesome the server was really nice and made us feel like at home I thank Mario for the excellent service he was kind and gave us great choices on food and drinks thank you all.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    78
    49
    43
    50
See reviews for
113
71
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlingen, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Location for our annual conference. I had a beautiful beach front room on the second floor. The room was beautiful and the view was awesome. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the shower. I had very reliable wifi internet. The Windjammer had good food and the entertainment at the Quarterdeck Lounge was pleasant. The conference rooms were clean and well attended as always and the food provided during the conference was very good.
I will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Beach front cabanas are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was the only room that I could find on the island. I thought that made me very fortunate but upon arrival, the hotel was very old and the service was terrible. They had to issue 4 different door keys because none of them worked. None of the staff spoke English which made it very difficult to try and discuss the room issues we were having.

Room Tip: This hotel had terrible service. I would not recommend staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We make a yearly trip to Isla Grand to attend a seminar and, although it definitely has some shortcomings, I always enjoy our stay. We stayed in condos this year that were very clean and well decorated. They also were very spacious, and the view from the balcony is beautiful. Each had a full-sized kitchen, though the kitchen supplies were minimal and very basic, suited our needs. Maid service was prompt each morning and the housekeepers were very friendly and pleasant. Like many other reviewers, the sleep-number bed that was touted didn't work and was stuck in such a way that it created a hard lump down the center of the bed. Another minor disappointment was that the television in the bedroom didn't get all of the channels that the one in the living room got and my request for someone to come fix it went totally unanswered.

The grounds are really quite lovely and well maintained. Although I didn't use the pools, it looked like those that did had a lot of fun.

We ordered room service most mornings and it was great . . . good food and very quick service. My experience in the restaurant wasn't quite as good. We went on the evening they featured steaks on the menu, and we found that it didn't really matter how you ordered your steak cooked . . . they all came out the same. I suspect that the steaks were cooked ahead of time and just reheated to fill order. But the restaurant staff were very attentive and the service was good.

I couldn't really describe Isla Grand as a "luxury" resort, but it's really nice, very comfortable, and located in a great spot just over the bridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Location for a recent conference. A hotel badly in need of a renovation and cleaning. Very nice beach after you walk through litter and cigarette butts in the sand. Rooms were musty, dark dirty and dated but they did change the sheets and linens. The bathroom was clean but poorly lit. The sleep number bed did not work and was stuck on 90. The public area around the pool was very nice, and the public area staff was courteous and friendly. The business center was severely lacking (Office 2003? on one and no internet connection on the other) and the wireless network continuously failed and 3 calls to front desk/tech support went unanswered. I was at least able to print my boarding pass. The meeting areas were acceptable (except for the Texas sized bug that ran along one of the hospitality tables) and the a/v equipment was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our family visited Isla Grand on S.Padre for a wedding. We were there for a long weekend Friday through Monday. Upon arrival we were greeted kindly and found a clean room. The rooms are a bit outdated, but we had received a special promotion price so I was okay with that. Overall our stay was very good. I think the resort itself if clean and well maintained but just needs some updating. The grounds are very well maintained and the servers at the restaurant are very friendly. You cannot beat the location / proximity to the beach. Our room was clean and the housekeeping staff again was friendly. I would stay here again but would not pay full price only because of the updating needed. Nice stay and nice resort.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor of the pool/garden suites and it was easy to come in and out to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

When I checked in at 12:30 AM, the staff were just as friendly as 12 in the afternoon. Nando, the front desk clerk, was very attentive and even got us a better room closer to the beach. The food in Windjammer's was very wholesome. Windjammer's also has a BEAUTIFUL view. The pool is good. Isla Grand is the best hotel on the island with first-class service!!!

Room Tip: Get a Beachfront or Beachview cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.