We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Isla Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Isla Grand Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Quitman, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“July Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our July trip to SPI was my first visit to the island. Since I had no idea of the island having only gone to Galveston, Port Aransas, and Corpus Christi in the past, I decided to spend a little more for accommodations just in case. The hotel's website showed beautiful pictures of the pool areas and beach. Those are an accurate depiction. We enjoyed the pool (wish, since there were two, that the smaller one was adults only). we walked to the beach twice, but only waded in the water. Didn't see the need to spend money for chairs to sit on the beach when the pool area was so nice.The cabana room my husband and I had was nice, but not above average by any means. Our sleep number bed controls did not work. we did not mention this to hotel management the bed was comfortable enough as it was. We had breakfast vouchers and ate in the hotel's restaurant all three mornings. The food was good and our service was excellent. On our departure day, we arrived at 6:30 to eat and get on the road. The server was friendly and the food arrived in a timely manner. While driving around the island, we saw several other hotels and condos that we would be comfortable in if we return. I would consider this hotel again if the price per night was lower.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank angela_brown1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Location on the beach was the best! The rooms online showed to be luxury with a luxury price $$$$ but not the case. It was more of what a motel 8 or 6 is but costs $$$$. Dead roach on carpet, dirty bath cloth in shower, tv that could not watch bc of the discoloration in the pigments, carpet that must have been the original. The resort is pet friendly... However when owners left their doggies in room all day or for late dinner all you got was barking. The food was good, highly recommend the burgers by the pool. Speaking of pool found all kinds of things like a crab at the bottom, empty bear can and all the used floaters people disregarded. Just disappointed for what the online photos and description was compared to what you got plus outrageous price. Resort Really?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristieizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

After spending four days at the Isla Grand Beach Resort, one thing is apparent, their website tells a story of a Great Luxury Hotel on the Island, instead, it is a step up from a two star hotel. The rooms need a major upgrade, it reminds me of a room from the 1980's full of mildew. The A/C never cooled the room, even when we called maintenance there was nothing they could do. We requested an extra pillow, and was told no. The internet at the hotel seemed to be as fast as dial up. The pool and the beach were great, fantastic location for everything.
I never wrote a negative review, but this hotel should be a last resort, literally!
The people that worked at the hotel were great and worked with what they have, unfortunately it needs a massive renovation.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with central air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Isla Grand is a beautiful place to stay. As a hotel it has everything that you could want. There was one thing that bothered me and that was no Continental Breakfast and was a little over priced. I was totally satisfied with the stay though. It was a very relaxed atmosphere with friendly people all around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Family vacation that was enjoyed by all. Pool and beach facilities are great and enjoyed by kids and adults. Housekeeping services were excellent. Food and drinks good and a wonderful view of the Gulf.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our First stay was Really nice being the off season and everything was Great, including the Resaurant which has the best Omelette Island.
Our second visit was even better, Bar By the pool was nice, the Quarterdeck Sport Bar had a Great Band, and we were able to watch the Spurs game with good attention from the wait staff.
and George at the Front desk was very accommodating when we requested a room change for beach access.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIBOG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hostess in the Windjammer Cafe was HORRIBLE! Not sure of her name, but she was somewhat young, wore a messy gross bun everyday and acted SOOO rude I will never be back! While taking a picture of my kid, she put down the menus (She was standing at the hostess stand looking at us) came over, used her foot to kick a plant in front of my daughter and walked away! We never moved/even noticed the plant so I'm not sure what that was all about! The room was pretty dirty too... pieces of paper and hair in the bathroom on the floor(obviously it wasn't swept) and the mattress cover had poop or something on it. We had to wait 45 min past the time our room should have been ready so I would have assumed it to be exceptionally clean... Room service (the HOSTESS girl answers the phone too for room service) took our order (was completely snotty about it) and then 45 min later when i called to see where it was, she got mad and said i'll call you back and hung up...never called back so the manager got a call, which he was very very nice (all of management is, poor guys have to deal with crappy staff i guess and are used to it!) the rest of the staff is pretty upset to have to deal with people, not sure why they want to work with the public?!?!

Room Tip: the rooms are dated, but the whole island seems to be really dated. serves it prupose though, especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 33 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#9 of 33 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 33 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#4 of 33 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#12 of 33 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#16 of 33 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick and Orbitz so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing