We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full service resort hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Isla Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 1 more site!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay and Play Package
Houston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Full service resort hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at the Isla Grand for a conference but could easily see the whole family spending a long weekend here. The resort has everything you need: coffee shop serving Starbucks, restaurant, bar, two large pools, tennis courts, and easy beach access.

There are two types of rooms: full size condos in the tower and standard hotel rooms in the cabanas. While the tower offers a better Gulf view, the cabanas are closer to the pool and the beach. Both are spacious. I know how hard it is to keep beachfront rooms clean, with all that sand. But my cabana room was spotless. Kudos to the housekeeping staff.

The groundskeepers also need some recognition. The pools were clean with plenty of lounge chairs available. The lawns were perfectly manicured. Just beautiful, really.

The size of the resort gives you (and your kids!) plenty of space to roam. You'll have no trouble finding the action or a quiet spot, be it the pool bar or one of the hammocks near the beach.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    67
    40
    38
    46
See reviews for
99
62
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balmorhea, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in a condo unit on the 11 th floor. Wonderful view of the pools (2), shuffleboard, tennis courts, volleyball courts and beach. All appliances worked well, limited cooking equipment. Very well maintained pool and beach area. Rooms could use minor repairs and updating. Staff was friendly and helpful. check out beach towels at the front desk. Maids ran out of towels, get yours early-it was very busy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadows Place, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We played in an USAV girls junior volleyball tournament and the Isla Grand was the host hotel. We had a great stay right on the beach and the staff was very friendly and helpful with our stay. My family had a 2 bedroom condo with a great view from the 7th floor. They gave us a late check out with no charge which was helpful and let us enjoy a little more of South Padres charm, the beach! The condo had full kitchen and sleeps 6. We will stay there again when we go back.

Room Tip: Higher the condo the better the view and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Big family went. Got 1 condo, 1 poolside rm, 1beachfront rm. very large property. Giant pool areas, shuffleboard ( yes we played) , tennis courts, and easy beach access right at the sidewalk. The beds were hard n our beachfront rm, the sleep # control didn't work, we bought a pillow at Walmart so id have one soft one. Still, it is a great complex that worked well for our party of 10 including 2 infants.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are a long way from the office, cafe, front area. Condos are multistory so gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Older hotel on the beach. The staff was friendly, the rooms were nice, the cleanliness between the beach and hotel was the only downfall. Keep it clean. The Bar is great with live music and fun atmosphere. The whisky shack makes great turbo banana coladas.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This an e-mail I sent to the GM
"I hope this e-mail dose to the GM directly .
I have been traveling all my life worldwide , I stay usually in 4 and 5 stars hotels . The customer service I always get is very satisfying specially the check in process where services are usually is exceptionally good, it’s not the case with your hotel . You guys have the worst customer service , completely unprofessional and rude reception personal , even worse supervisor. For a $500 a night , I would expect far better service and treatment . I have no issues with the hotel as far amenities , Location and food , but definitely not the personal . I have been in the travel business for 13 years and If I am still in the travel business , I would never book your hotel to any one . You guys should be ashamed of yourself. I stayed in this hotel once when it was Radisson and though I would get the same customer service , but obviously I was wrong .

I was so happy to see other resorts are opening up so the $500 will be will spend next time

Room Tip: just don't go there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

While the local is great, that is all you are truly paying for. The rooms and service are not worth the price of the room. I work in the hotel industry, and am sitting by the pool wondering how they call themselves a resort. While they do have all the amenities of a resort, the service is little to nothing. If this was my property I would renovate the staff before the rooms. I totally agree with the previous post, even at a la Quinta, you get a coffee maker and microwave in your room, heck you even get breakfast and they charge under a hundred dollars. For $250 in the off season, I would look else where.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Isla Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.