We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   912 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Bad Pyrmont, Germany
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have been coming to this hotel ever since it was built. Through the years it needed some renovations and we were pleased to see that the bathrooms have been updated and the rooms painted. There are obviously more jobs to do (carpets, doors etc) but the rooms are comfortable and big. We also noticed new bedding and towels and they must have changed the mattresses. Unfortunately they were too soft for our liking and caused a little back ache.
We love the location. Even though it's not on the beach the beach is only a minute away and shops and restaurants are within walking distance.
The breakfast is good with plenty of items to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesSouthPadreTX, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We have been striving to make our hotel more enjoyable to all our guest's . It's true, we have done some remodeling, we will continue to listen to the voice of guest's as to what they would like to see and feel when they stay at Comfort Suites S.P.I.

Please continue to make us your destination hotel when visiting South Padre Island

Thank You Again
David Mejorado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    65
    25
    28
    21
See reviews for
76
51
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Arkansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The room we had was decent, however the customer service was not. First of all, we were told to call ahead if we wanted to check in-early before we came to the island with small children. We did call ahead and they said the rooms wouldn't be available early, which was fine but we let them know we would be there close to 3 to check-in to our 3 rooms. When we did get there, we waited at the front desk for 45 minutes for the rooms to be cleaned. During the stay we did use the pool, and there were never any towels available. We ask the front desk staff 3 times for towels and they were still never replenished. After out overnight stay we packed up 2 of our rooms to leAve and was told there was no way to do late check-out. Later in the day we called because there was a pillow and a shoe accidentally left behind. The from office man told us the housekeeper had left and there was no way for him to check and see if either was found and he told us to call back. The next morning we called again and received the same response. That afternoon we called a third time and the lady took my number and said she would call me back. And here I sit today, a week later with absolutely no Response whatsoever. Very disappointed in the service of this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesSouthPadreTX, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
I would like to thank you first for taking the time to review our hotel, and mention the experience you had at our hotel. It is unfortunate that things did not go well for you when staying at our hotel. There is no excuse for the performance we displayed. You came to South Padre Island to enjoy a nice getaway. But, let me explain that this is not the norm at our hotel. I hope you understand that things do happen on occasion and we tend to drop the ball at times. These are all learning experiences for the entire staff and let me assure you I have gone over this with the entire staff. Please do not let this incident deter you from visiting us again.

Thank you
David Mejorado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Every year when we visit South Padre, my husband and I stay here. It is newly updated and the beds are super comfortable! The pool area is really nice, and we love the free breakfast in the morning! Plus, it has super easy beach access. Very affordable as well...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesSouthPadreTX, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
It's always nice to hear that a when a guest returns to South Padre Island they continue to choose our hotel. Our staff feels a sense of pride knowing that there hard efforts get rewarded.

Thank You!!
David Mejorado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

There are a couple of negative comments from earlier travellers but we had no such experiences and the (off season?) rate was exceptional value. Our room on the 3rd floor was spotless and everything in it was new. I assume it had been recently renovated. All furnishings, fixtures, washroom, pictures, paint etc looked brand new. The bed and pillows were extraordinarily comfortable. The room with two queen beds was large with a separate sitting area. Maybe a bit of a stretch to call it a suite but there was ample space. The corridors were well lit and clean and the two elevators likewise and more than adequate. Breakfast area was very busy and served the standard Comfort Inn fare. A very nice pool and hot tub area with plenty of lounges and tables. The hotel is not on the beach but provides a private passage way from the parking lot to the beach. A very short walk. Several restaurants within walking distance. We found one called "Daddies" about 10 minutes to the right when leaving hotel. Name (Daddies) sounded dubious but the place was crowded with retired seniors who generally know a good deal so we gave it a shot and it turned out wonderful. Seafood is the specialty and the food quality and price was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesSouthPadreTX, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your response on your recent stay here at Comfort Suites S.P.I. I am happy to hear that you thought you received a Great Value and Price for your stay. I have passed along your comments to my staff and they would also like to thank you as well.

We look forward to your next stay, and please stop by the front desk and ask for me. I would just like to thank you personally.

Regards,
David Mejorado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife booked our stay on a Thursday while traveling here in our car and I had 2nd thoughts all the way, but, to my surprise it is very nice. If you are expecting luxury then keep looking. We found the hotel to be just what we wanted...clean, friendly staff, good breakfast, good bathroom facilities, good tv, short walk to the beach. You really can't go wrong here. Off season price of $60 was great too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesSouthPadreTX, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Isn't great to get a great surprise when expectations are not that high for something. We are happy to hear that you received that while staying at our hotel. Staff is always working hard to make the experience for all our guest's a most memorable one. One in which they go away feeling as you did.

Thank you
David Mejorado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We love this hotel, because it is affordable, clean, well maintained and managed by two great people, David and Simona . Close to the beach, nice pool and hot tub. A good location. You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesSouthPadreTX, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind words for Simona and myself. Not to often do any of us get singled out on a positive note. This just regenerates us to provide even more excellent service to all our guest's and feel that we are making a difference.

Thank you again, and stop by desk just to say hello



David Mejorado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groesbeck, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went to South Padre for our Anniversary at the end of October. I am a loyal customer of Comfort Suites and the other Choice Hotel chain. The rates for this seemed fair for the area and for off season, especially for a Comfort Suites. However, after I booked I was sent a message that the facility was under renovation. We didn't have a problem with this part while we were there, no noise or anything. But the place is needing it. We were on the 4th floor and view of the ocean was okay (partial ocean view). But the hall was hot and smelled bad. We were there for 2 nights and the hall was never vacuumed, as the same debris particles were never removed. The room was about 1/2 complete in the renovation. There were pictures off the walls and no place to hang towels in the bathroom.
The staff was okay but not overly friendly. The breakfast was horrible. I normally love the breakfast but I would rather have gone out than eat the lukewarm eggs and meat they offered.
I will be going back to South Padre but I won't be staying at this Comfort Suites again. The Motel 6 couldn't have been much worse than this for 1/2 the price.

Room Tip: If you still want to try this hotel, choose a partial ocean view room. The balcony rooms look out ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 912 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite hotel with contemporary furnishings. Private beach access. FREE high speed internet access. Suites with partial beach and bay views. Shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Bilingual staff. All Comfort Suites are smoke free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel South Padre Island
Comfort Suites Hotel South Padre Island
Comfort Suites South Padre Island
South Padre Island Comfort Suites
Comfort Suite South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.