We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping theft!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   912 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Housekeeping theft!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just stayed there the passed 3 days we had $80 stolen from
Our room the first night we were even there. We had a do not disturb sign on our door. When we went and complained the front desk said that she wasn't surprised this happens often. Are you freaking kidding me this happens often what a joke. We also didnt even have pillow cases on our 8 pillows and when we went down to get them they looked at us like we were stupid.. Our wi fi didn't work either n the front desk lady didnt didn't even know wht to do . Other then all Tht it was alright .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesSouthPadreTX, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I would personally addressed the issues you had with our hotel. I have reviewed the incident and spoken with the front desk in question and the entire housekeeping staff. First, let me apologize that you did not have a pleasant stay. As for the theft, I do not know why our front desk agent mentioned this to you, but this is not the norm at the hotel. We do not have instances of theft. Our housekeeping staff is of one of the best in the industry, and I have yet to see anyone of them take any items. Our front desk agent was out of line also, if she did make this comment, she has been advised of correct protocal when guest's have any issues with their stay. Again, let me apologize for your unpleasant stay.

David Mejorado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    62
    24
    28
    21
See reviews for
75
50
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere in Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Since inception of us initally attempting the minor task of parking we were bombarded with absolutely no available parking spaces. From the minute we entered the hotel the staff was aloof to us as customers. When they finally graced us with the courtesy of acknowledging our presence, I asked about why there were no parking spaces. The woman told me that they would call a tow truck to tow all the people who were illegally parked in what was supposed to be customer parking only. Next in what was to become know in my household as the Comfort Suite Debacle was over shameless advertising ( sexually suggestive marketing of Bic razors all over the floors and elevators) shoved down our throats. Next as we entered the elevator we noticed a strange cocktail of pool water, alcohol, and vomit. The product of underaged drinking and debauchery taking place throughout the hotel. The poor customer service was only outdone by the stank conditions. This was a mere prelude to what we would find in our hotel room. As we entered our quarters we noticed sizeable pools of coagulated urine on and around the toilet, hair everywhere and remnants of underaged sex. To sum it up you would be better off sleeping on the beach rather than this HO-tel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Chances are, you will know ahead that this hotel is not directly on the beach - which makes it more affordable than some others. It is a fairly easy walk, though. I was traveling on business in November, so it really didn't matter to me.

Typical Comfort Suites property, with average to better breakfast. They were painting some rooms when I was there, so hopefully the place is freshened up. Like most Comfort Suites, it is nothing outstanding, but a clean, comfortable place to sleep.

There are a few restaurants within walking distance and more within a few minutes drive.

If not being directly on the beach is important and you are a loyal ChoiceHotels guest, then you should be just fine here. If I return to SPI, I will likely find a place directly on the beach, especially if family is with me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in June 13'. Rooms were clean, big and nice. The pool was always packed and had too much chlorine. Bout a 5 min walk to the beach. Decent breakfast. Rooms were very quiet compared to others ive stayed. It took a long time to check in when i first arrived. But Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Never again! front desk manager, lady with long dark hair that spoke english & spanish had such a terrible attitude! she cared less about customers & seemed too busy to listen. every other comment was "we're shorthanded". when i went to report my missing sunglasses(chanels) she blew me off. i went back several times hoping housekeeping had a change of heart & returned them. she had me waiting at the counter while she suspended an employee for a week! i had walked to my room & layed my glasses on the microwave, left for breakfast & when i returned housekeeping had cleaned our room & coincidently my glasses were gone.

Room Tip: not this hotel. you want to start your trip with a friendly smile not these people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located within walking distance to the beach and right behind McDonald's. Rooms clean and spacious. Mini fridge available in room. Walls are paper thin. We were given a room too close to the lobby and could hear people talking throughout the night which made it hard to sleep. Hot breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good value by SPI standards, anyway. The room was larger than some apartments I've had, with a huge bathroom (though the whirlpool is not really for two persons unless they are smaller and nimbler than we are!), sitting room with separated bedroom, and kitchen area that could have used a sink of its own. Hallway carpet has seen its best days, long since. Breakfast was good; the fruit was inedibly green but I wish they'd had the sausages both days we were there. Hotel is kind of tucked away and easy to miss, which we did, the first time. One word of advice to SPI first-timers: Check in advance to make sure you're not visiting during Biker Fest, unless hearing bikes rev'ved til all hours is your idea of a good time.

Room Tip: Apparently room numbers X12 and lower are bay side, X13 and higher are ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 912 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite hotel with contemporary furnishings. Private beach access. FREE high speed internet access. Suites with partial beach and bay views. Shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Bilingual staff. All Comfort Suites are smoke free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel South Padre Island
Comfort Suites Hotel South Padre Island
Comfort Suites South Padre Island
South Padre Island Comfort Suites
Comfort Suite South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;