We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   912 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 32 hotels in South Padre Island
Bad Pyrmont, Germany
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Best Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel since it was new. Sadly it shows signs of wear and tear now. Especially bad were the stained carpets in the hallway and the room. We had room # 109 on the first floor. It was a big room with 2 queen size beds plus a sofa. The bathroom was spacious too with plenty of space for toiletries, good water pressure and a nice shower head. The lighting in the room could be brighter but we were pleased with the comfortable beds and the fact that it was very quiet. The staff was friendly as always. They let us check in before time and phoned to find out if we were satisfied with the room. They offer a good breakfast with quite a selection of fruit, cereals, toast, muffins, scrambled eggs, ham and waffles, good coffee and orange juice. What we like best is the location. There is a McDonald’s right across from the entrance and a Denny’s a few doors down. There are several shops and cafes within walking distance. Even though there is no sea view a 2 minute walk through a private access leads straight to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    62
    23
    27
    18
See reviews for
71
49
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed and found the hotel to be dirty.
Many of the room numbers were missing.
The elevator carpet was a mess - dirty
Beds were fine.
bathroom was very good.
The pool area was a mess.
Spring breakers had really done damage to the hotel so until they fix and clean up seek another location!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you could care less about poor customer service, prefer getting told one thing then another and poor hotel management then this hotel is exactly for you. Whoever the ladies are that work the front desk are: 1. If you are an employee please learn how to handle a proper transaction as well as proper communication to the customer he/she is helping. 2. If you are a manager you should know how to effectively treat your customers or you will defiantly receive a poor reputation. The only thing that excited me about this hotel was the continental breakfast. Props to the ladies working the buffet they seemed to know more than the ladies at the desk. Overall you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband, brother and sister-in-law and I stayed Jan. 31 thru Feb 6 when we checked out a day early. The urine and filthy smell of the carpet in handicap room 113 was unbearable. Then the cockroaches set in--approximately 7 were crushed by us daily. The desk clerks did not seem to take me seriously. She finally gave me a bit of a can of Lysol. She said that this room was prone to cockroaches because it is next to the helper's eating area and they tended to leave food and wrappers around. Cockroaches crawling up your arm is not a great wake-up call. The desk clerk said that the carpet probably smelled because of spring break kids. It was horrible and the cockroaches were unbearable. When we left they gave us a 25% discount which was not nearly adequate for what that room was like. Guests were very friendly.

Room Tip: The one handicap room smells horrible and did (at least) have a lot of cockroaches..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I are "winter Texans" and love our time on the island. During our recent stay, my daughter and her son came to visit us for a long weekend leaving her husband and two-year old twins at home. They had planned to skype every evening, but with first night was unable to get into the internet. We knew Ian was acomputer whiz as had helped other residents with their computer needs. The 2nd night, we went to a sister hotel where Ian was working the front desk and within minutes, our daughter knew what she had been doing wrong. We are so thankful for him taking the time out of his busy schedule to help us. Craig and Carolyn Greener

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is an older hotel, but it is maintained well. To the people who complain about noise - Don't come during SPRING BREAK times. S. Padre Island is well known for crowds and rowdy beach parties. My stay was March 1 - 6, 2013. I did not find the hotel loud, nor did I find anyone who was anything but courteous. The front desk clerk upgraded me to a two bedroom Jacuzzi Suite because I am an Elite Gold Member of Choice Hotels. It was EXCELLENT for my situation. It had one full bedroom with a King Bed and 1/2 Bath, then a completely 2nd bedroom with a 1/2 Bath. Both bedrooms had to share the Jacuzzi Bath tub ... but hey, that is no problem to have a Jacuzzi tub instead of just a regular sized tub. The kitchen is lacking a little ( no utensils ) and the living room is IN the 2nd bedroom ... but again, for my situation it was perfect. I have no complaints. The price was very reasonable, even with it being the beginning of Spring Break 2013. The only negative is that is is not directly ON the beach, but there is a private walkway to the beach .. perhaps a 2 minute walk.
I would DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor that faces the beach - otherwise your view will be of the McDonald's driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Front desk staff very professional but a bit haggard. Very large room, well kept. Pressure lacking from shower head and water was more lukewarm then hot, during our whole stay. Ocean view obstructed by condos and sleep interrupted by very early morning garbage pick-up at adjacent McDonalds. Breakfast featured same scrambled eggs but we had bacon one day, and strawberry flavored waffles were tasty. Nice pool to sit around and private sidewalk leading to beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 912 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite hotel with contemporary furnishings. Private beach access. FREE high speed internet access. Suites with partial beach and bay views. Shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Bilingual staff. All Comfort Suites are smoke free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel South Padre Island
Comfort Suites Hotel South Padre Island
Comfort Suites South Padre Island
South Padre Island Comfort Suites
Comfort Suite South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.