We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   912 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location is great for a winter getaway. The people are friendly and helpful. The grounds are well-kept. The breakfast is fantastic! I especially enjoyed the Texas-shaped waffles. There are eggs and meat served each morning as well. Every morning we saw the sunrise on the beach. It is walking distance to many shops, restaurants and other local attractions. The pool is refreshing and a good size.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    62
    24
    28
    21
See reviews for
75
50
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Pyrmont, Germany
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The friendly receptionist let us check in early.
The large room had 2 queen size beds plus a sofa so that 6 people could sleep in it. It also had a microwave and fridge with storage cabinets and a large table. The Wi-Fi worked well. As the hotel is located a little back from the main road we didn’t hear any traffic noise and enjoyed the view from the room on the 4th floor (#406), especially at sunset.
The room had an unpleasant smell though and we had a little problem with tiny ants. Because we spent only one night in the hotel we didn’t insist on changing rooms but they might have caused problems if we had had any food items with us.

We liked the location. The hotel is 2 minutes from the beach which can be reached through a small walkway. There are a McDonalds next to it and a Denny’s within walking distance.
The breakfast is good, many items to choose from and tasty juice and coffee.

We have stayed in the hotel before and we will stay there again. It is definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesSouthPadreTX, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
It was a pleasure to pass along your comments to my staff regarding your most recent stay with us at Comfort Suites. We are so happy that your stay went very well. As for the problem regarding the little ants. Unfortunately, that has become a problem throughout the area, according to our pest management company? This is not the norm, at the hotel, or as I understand it South Padre Island. I only hope you continue to stay with us on future stays, so that we can still better serve you.

Thank You
David Mejorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our room on the 4th floor was well decorated and clean. Very nice staff and nice "perks" in the suite. Very enjoyable stay for three nights. Full breakfast in a spacious room overlooking the pool. We stay at a lot of Choice hotels and would recomment Dave and his staff as some of the more obliging and approachable people we have met. Very enjoyable stay and would go there again when we have a chance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesSouthPadreTX, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your most courteous review. I have also showed your review to my staff, and they are delighted to know that there efforts do not go unnoticed. My entire staff would also like to THANK YOU as well. Hopefully, this will not be your last stay with us, and give us another chance to welcome you back to our hotel

Thank You
David Mejorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Restroom had lots of black roaches!! Needs pest control and better inspection by manager... last of all clerks need more professional training!! It took the clerk about half an hour to give me back my deposit!! Very inconvenient!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesSouthPadreTX, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Comfort Suites. I see that you had some issues with your room and checkout. Unfortunately, I was not able to see any of these issues in our activity book. This is no excuse of course, but I have looked into these problems and addressed them to the proper individuals and departments. I would like to also THANK YOU for bringing this to my attention. I only hope that we can serve you again, and make your future stay a great one.

Thank You
David Mejorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

we stayed there November 7th
The hotel staff was super and the front desk was there to help
The rooms are big and the rooms are clean The bed was very comfortable
Very close to the beach you can't go wrong staying at this hotel

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesSouthPadreTX, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
It's always nice to hear that our guest(s) enjoy it when they stay with us. I see that you loved our spacious suites, and that our staff made you feel at home. I have passed along your review of our hotel, and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Thank You
David Mejorado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a very nice hotel and the staff is the best,,,,,,,,, very helpful and friendly.
The rooms are big and very clean. Just a walkway from the beach
We will stay there again when we return to South Padre
We have returned to this hotel over and over

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesSouthPadreTX, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for granting us the honor and opportunity to serve you. We strive to make all of our guests stay a most pleasant one. We look forward welcoming you again at our hotel.


Thank You
David Mejorado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We are sitting on our balcony right now looking over towards Port Isabel.
Was concerned about some of the previous reviews but we are really enjoying our 3 nights here.Our room is very clean and well maintained and the staff at the front desk are very pleasant and helpful.
Oh by the way Dave we loved the food at the Italian restaurant you suggested and thanks for all your help when we checked in.
Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we everget the chance come to Texas and South Padre island again.
Great value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSuitesSouthPadreTX, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I am most pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I see that you enjoyed the room overlooking the bay. I am sure the evening's had a even better view of the causeway. I have mentioned your review to our housekeeping and passed along what a great job they are doing in maintaining our rooms.
Also, happy to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant I recommended..hopefully we get to enjoy your company again.

Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 912 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite hotel with contemporary furnishings. Private beach access. FREE high speed internet access. Suites with partial beach and bay views. Shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Bilingual staff. All Comfort Suites are smoke free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel South Padre Island
Comfort Suites Hotel South Padre Island
Comfort Suites South Padre Island
South Padre Island Comfort Suites
Comfort Suite South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.