We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill

Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill
6900 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
(956) 761-5900
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Cleanliness was my objection here. there were people with dogs everywhere I saw dogs walking on tables and counters.. food was ok but birds will steal,it if you're not careful. We never went back. I suspect it was a hopping late night drinking establishment if that's what you'd like you'll probably love it but leave your dog in the room..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    69
    40
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN ANGELO
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Their grilled shrimp salad and baskets were good. They did not over season the shrimp and it was just enough butter and season to make it tasty.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Go for the drinks and the view - not the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Perfect laid back beach bar with yummy rum drinks. Would not recommend the food. If you go, it is good for the drinks and the view only.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Leave your dogs at home”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stopped here for lunch last week. This bar/restaurant has a great location & view - right on the beach - good music & food. The problem is 90 percent of the patrons brought their dogs with them. Dogs were up on chairs & eating off tables! I'm not sure if I should be blaming the dogs, their owners or the proprietors for the bad behavior. We are also dog owners, however we leave our dogs at home when we're vacationing. The barking, etc. killed the atmosphere for us / won't go back. Might just as well have packed a bag lunch & gone to a kennel to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, view & vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent the day here for Sand Castle Days and really enjoyed the location, the bar food & beverages. Clayton was the perfect host for the day with a great beach location. A must!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.