We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Kranzler

Cafe Kranzler
2412 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6970
956-772-1840
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Cafe Kranzler is committed to providing our guests with a quality dining experience while serving up a delicious new American cuisine menu.
McAllen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After reading mixed reviews on this place, we decided to go check it out for ourselves. The service was ok, but not overly friendly. We felt a little uncomfortable, as she seemed "put upon" because we arrived without a reservation. The place wasn't even half full. We ordered the paella (specialty of the house), cioppino, and a vegetable puttanesca. The paella was not good at all. Dried out bland rice?! We left most of it.The cioppino had way too much fennel and lacked depth. The puttanesca was pretty good. Definitely the most flavorful dish we had. We satisfied our curiosity about this place...and won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese S, Owner at Cafe Kranzler, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I'm sad to hear your experience with us was less than impressive, Jeannean. We want all our guests to feel welcome and comfortable, I'm sorry this wasn't the case during your visit. In regards to our food, I want to assure you each dish is cooked fresh to order and made with the highest quality ingredients. I'm sad this failed to shine through. However, our menu changes regularly so we can provide our guests with new, flavorful creations. I hope you'll reconsider giving us another try to see if we've added something more to your liking. I know we can give you a better impression.

Best,

Anneliese, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    5
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Good common food from world. It is different and selected. Paella on Sundays is a warranty. Beer selection is interesting and low key tasty wines make this different

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese S, Owner at Cafe Kranzler, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks for the excellent review, C. Glad to hear you're a fan of our variety and selection. I hope you'll join us for another meal soon!

Best,

Anneliese, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best Food on SPI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was a girls' night out dinner on South Padre Island. We have had some typical SPI food this week and we were ready for something a little different and hopefully special. Luckily we found it at Cafe Kranzler.

The whole menu looked great, but the three of us were especially interested in the appetizers and we shared four. We started with the seared scallops in brown garlic sauce with aioli and the grilled shrimp with avocado. Both were scrumptious and accompanied with seasoned baguette slices. The slices of baguette alone were yummy. This was followed by the mussels in garlic sauce, which also offered up the perfect dunking sauce for those baguette slices. The last appetizer was a heavenly Parisian macaroni and cheese, made with pasta shells, Brie, mushrooms and figs which was so very delicious. We ordered the apple and pear salad with spring greens, Gorgonzola and walnuts to complement the appetizers. Just perfect.

The Singer family owns this restaurant and Mrs. Singer was kind enough to let us taste some of the by-the-glass wines before we decided which one to choose. Lastly we finished the meal with a skillet apple pie which was just awesome. Hot, bubbly and caramelized, truly a not to be missed dessert. Along with a freshly brewed pot of coffee, this was the perfect meal and we were all very full and happy by the end of dinner. We also felt very lucky that we found this gem of a restaurant amidst all the fried shrimp on SPI.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rich and creative entrees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you want something different from the usual beach eateries on SPI, try Cafe Kranzler. They have an excellent, if pricey, wine list and creative entrees. We wished for more selections of local gulf fish, served without rich sauces, but we enjoyed the rich saucy stuff too. We didn't try the desserts, but they looked beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cafe Kranzler is becoming my favorite Island restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The more we dine at Cafe Kranzler, the more I appreciate the consistent quality of their food. Cafe Kranzler offers by far the best fine dining on the island, and should be among the top 3 restaurants here.

We have been enjoying great dinners here for some time and finally tried their breakfast a couple of weeks ago. I don't know why we waited so long, but I do know it will be our top breakfast spot on the island going forward.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kranzler also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe Kranzler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Kranzler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.