We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to see and photograph LOTS of birds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center

South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center
6801 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX
+1 956-761-6801
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Also on Facebook- South Padre Island Birding & Nature Center
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to see and photograph LOTS of birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

During our RV trip to south Texas we went to the Padre Island Birding Center. We took our RV and stayed at the KOA that was very nice. The weather was cold and windy, but the amount of birds we were able to see was wonderful. They have boardwalks that go out over the wet lands and see the birds up close and personal. We cared for, clean, the volunteers very knowledgeable. If you go to South Padre, check it out for sure. In warmer weather we could have seen their resident alligator also.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    76
    22
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McGregor, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Unique Opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you love birds, you'll love this place. If you don't know anything about birds, go anyway because you'll love them by the time you leave. Take the guided walk on weekend mornings at 9:30 to help you see all the wonders that are there. Tiny birds that are resting after flying from South America remind us all why we need to preserve these barrier islands. Terns that are returning from the Arctic remind us how amazing these birds lives are. Early mornings are the best for bird activity, although the crocodiles were around all day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was an interesting way to fill a couple hours...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It was a nice filler thing to do. Saw a lot of birds and was able to take a lot of pictures. I just bought a new camera so I was able to practice taking a bunch of shots. They have a couple alligators too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must for out of town visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The place to go and learn about SPI birds and nature, don't miss the historic film in the theater, enjoying an ice cream sandwich take the one mile walk, find the cocodrile and some of the birds visiting the place, go up the stairs and enjoy a full view of the Island. Just don't mind the water treatment plant next door, is kind of gross.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The walk around was great- a bit long for kids the ages of mine (2 & 6) but really interesting. We saw amazing birds and looked for other wildlife with our binoculars. Great way to spend an hour or so.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center to your Saves list