We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPI nature center-truly lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center

South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center
6801 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX
+1 956-761-6801
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also on Facebook- South Padre Island Birding & Nature Center
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“SPI nature center-truly lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The nature grounds surrounding the center are lovely and peaceful.
the staff are nice and helpful. Am not a "bird' expert, but loved walking out among the wildlife. The center is tasteful and not "touristy" a great place for yound and old. we walked to it from our hotel

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    112
    33
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If interested in wildlife, and birds, do not miss.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently went to the Birding Center with Relatives.
We saw more then 40 types of birds, an alligator, and totally enjoyed it.,

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Girls 3 day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Volunteers very helpful. We saw many birds and ducks. Good walk before our flight home. We even saw the alligator

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Missouri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome place to go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I went to the Birding and Nature Center last year and have been back several times.
There is such a large variety of birds. It will take you several hours to walk around and see the birds. Every time a get a nice day I go there and walk. .

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing stroll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It only cost $5, you get a guide booklet which tells you which birds are usually seen at which blind. The board walk is in good shape, and goes down to the Bay in at least to areas. You stroll along at your own pace. I really enjoyed photographing all the different birds. There is even an ellusive alligator, which unfortunately I never found. The wind, the water, nature....great combo. LOVED IT!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.