We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPI nature center-truly lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center

South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center
6801 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX
+1 956-761-6801
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also on Facebook- South Padre Island Birding & Nature Center
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“SPI nature center-truly lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The nature grounds surrounding the center are lovely and peaceful.
the staff are nice and helpful. Am not a "bird' expert, but loved walking out among the wildlife. The center is tasteful and not "touristy" a great place for yound and old. we walked to it from our hotel

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    82
    23
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If interested in wildlife, and birds, do not miss.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently went to the Birding Center with Relatives.
We saw more then 40 types of birds, an alligator, and totally enjoyed it.,

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Girls 3 day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Volunteers very helpful. We saw many birds and ducks. Good walk before our flight home. We even saw the alligator

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Missouri
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome place to go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I went to the Birding and Nature Center last year and have been back several times.
There is such a large variety of birds. It will take you several hours to walk around and see the birds. Every time a get a nice day I go there and walk. .

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing stroll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

It only cost $5, you get a guide booklet which tells you which birds are usually seen at which blind. The board walk is in good shape, and goes down to the Bay in at least to areas. You stroll along at your own pace. I really enjoyed photographing all the different birds. There is even an ellusive alligator, which unfortunately I never found. The wind, the water, nature....great combo. LOVED IT!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Padre Island Birding and Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.