We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osprey Cruises

Osprey Cruises
1 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
956-761-6655
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Osprey Cruises offers a variety of water-related activities and attractions. Deep Sea fishing trips aboard Osprey 1 and Osprey 2. Bay fishing trips aboard Bay King and Buccaneer. Bird watching cruises. Sightseeing cruises. Boat rides. Dolphin watching cruises. Nature and eco trips. Sunset cruises. Fireworks cruises. Osprey Cruises and Black Dragon are the top ranked boating attractions by visitors to South Padre Island area.
1 review
“Great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

First class people who do their best to put you on fish. My church goes out with them every year and rents the entire boat. We always have a great time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty T, Manager at Osprey Cruises, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
965bill; Very nice of you to post a review. We were happy to have you aboard and look forward to seeing you again next year if not before. Please let us know what we can do to make your trip more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    30
    12
    9
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun adventure for the family!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband, two kids, and I went on the five hour deep sea fishing. We all had a blast. My husband caught a shark and my son did as well. The crew was awesome. My daughter and got a little sea sick and they all were very nice and made dure we were ok. If you come to south padre island for vacation you have to go book a deep sea fishing trip with osprey cruises!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty T, Manager at Osprey Cruises, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Rebeccawells37; Very kind of you to give Osprey such a favorable review, and I am happy to hear that you and your family had a good time. Thanks, and please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Barfarama Shark Fest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Deep sea 1/2 day nightmare...Husband and son misled abt fishing, once out to sea informed was always only going to entail catching and gaffing sharks then paying $10 to have the nasty things cleaned. Inedible, ammonia ridden waste of money. Poor son along with over half of boat vomiting continuously. Steer clear!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty T, Manager at Osprey Cruises, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Stazzgirl; I always have a problem when a guy takes a fishing trip, whines to his wife and she posts a negative review. That "nasty shark meat" sells in the grocery stores for $9.00 /lb vs rib eye steak at $7.00/lb! As far as "half the boat vomiting continuously", that's exaggerated garbage and you know it! You sand babies from Arizona just have delicate tummies. How is it our fault that your son got seasick anyway? Do you berate the airlines when you encounter clear air turbulence? Do you complain to GM when you drive your suv over rough roads? Bottom line: you went deep sea fishing, caught fish and got seasick. What are you complaining about?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Osprey needs better Deep Sea Captain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

10 hour Deep Sea fishing trip, totally miserable. To be fair, the weather was definitely a factor. 5 foot swells with blustery winds and rain. The Captain drove for I know over 2 hours prior to first stop and crew was catching shark all seemed very pleased with the fishing. Captain spotted two other boats approaching and called all fishermen to reel in and he proceeded to drive another hour to another spot that was not effective fishing for anyone. After an hour or so of this, Captain again moved yet to another spot. Little fishing and a lot of moving.....Other paying fishermen on the boat felt the same and a few others were also surprised of all the time spent traveling from fishing areas. Fishing was disorganized and a lot of line cutting and waiting for crew to rerig your fishing rod. 15 people onboard and very little fish caught for a 10 hour trip. Very Disappointed.
I would like to mention, the next day we went on a chartered Bay Fishing trip and over heard on the two way radion the Captain from the Osprey bragging on the exact trip we had taken the day prior and prided himself on how miserable the boat ride was and the fishing. Maybe the Captain of the Bay Fishing charter should turn down his radio... OR maybe NOT..... it surely swayed my review to be a little more negative for the Osprey Captain though

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty T, Manager at Osprey Cruises, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Fancigrams; Thanks for your review, even though it was largely negative. Rough weather we can't help, and I appreciate your acknowledging that. The 10 hour Osprey fishing trip is designed as a tuna trip and that accounts for the fact that Capt.Tommy moved out of shark trying to find the tuna schools. This also explains the lengthy run to the fishing grounds. The tuna schools are well offshore and it takes a while to get there even though the Ospreys are the fastest party boats operating in the gulf. That's why we extended the trip from 8 to 10 hrs. Believe me when I say that, at the price of diesel, we don't like the extra fuel consumption. A lot of operators in this industry will take you a couple of miles offshore, anchor up or drift, and care little whether you catch fish or not. Our policy is to give every customer our best shot. We're like Avis, we try harder. We're not always successful, but that's why they call it "fishing". If it was easy, they'd call it "catching". Hope your bay trip went well and would appreciate your comments there. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Osprey needs new equipment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The boat was too crowded, and infested with roaches. I had to flick a cockroach off my sons neck.
These guys try but we caught nothing we could keep and the experience was miserable due to the crowds. Find out how many are going before you book. Our boat needed 10 plus less people.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty T, Manager at Osprey Cruises, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Jillapeno; I wonder about the date of your review, August 2012. Since last year, we have replaced most of the tackle on the Osprey. We replace and refurbish during the off-season winter months when the crowds thin out some. Admittedly, by August the equipment has had hard use, but it is inspected before each trip and spare rods and reels are available should any tackle fail. Sorry the fish didn't cooperate the day you were aboard, but thanks for your comment that "these
guys try". When you get right down to it, that's all we can do we appreciate the compliment. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osprey Cruises also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Osprey Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osprey Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.