We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Extended Stays
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island for 3 nights. It was one of the most pleasurable stays that we have experienced in a hotel. We recommend choosing the bed and breakfast option. It is a very short walk to the beach. There were a couple of missteps, but the staff worked hard to make up for them. We usually do not stay in Hilton hotels, but we may make this hotel an exception.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Rich,

We’re excited to hear you had a very memorable and pleasurable stay with us during your SPI visit. Our staff strives hard to make sure every guest’s experience is one just like yours. We are happy you took advantage of the beach and our hotel amenities. Thank you for choosing the Hilton on SPI and for sharing your fabulous experience of your stay. We hope you will choose us again the next time you’re on the island.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    210
    78
    33
    17
See reviews for
249
253
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for business and it was a nice surprise. South Padre hasn't really offered decent places to stay but this Hilton was a good place to stay. It is newer and at the north end of the island. The room was big and had a sitting area. The little balcony had a great view of the pool and ocean. The bed was comfortable. The beach is a short walk down a bridge that is connected to the hotel. Overall it was a nice Hilton and would recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Valued guest,

Our team at Hilton South Padre is pleased to hear our guests are enjoying one of the newer hotel additions of South Padre Island. The beach view rooms at our hotel offer an exquisite view of the gulf; we are thrilled that you were able to enjoy the view. Thank you for recommending our hotel and hope to see you out here once again.

Thank you,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great looking hotel in and out, Staff was amazing and willing to help. My issue is with the Hilton brand itself, I called and reserved a room 2 weeks in advance. I called the pearl and grand isla as welll , but was sold on this hotel because of the amenities. Claytons being next door was a plus. I was sold over the phone a king suite with an ocean view, I was very specific about what kind of room I wanted and also asked the woman who booked the room if the room had this view. We arrived at check in time and when we opened the door to our room it was a king suite yes but without the view we had spoke about and paid for, We were looking down at a messy maintenance area and this odd corner view of the ocean. I went downstairs and spoke with alfredo who was trying everything he could to help us. He also stated "this has happened before" after him searching to find what I was sold over the phone by there booking/reservation staff....he had nothing available but a room with 2 queen beds with a partial view, We had no choice but to relocate our things to that room. I was willing to sacrifice just for the partial view. I was really upset and just didn't want to complicate things this being our anniversary weekend. My issue is not with the staff or the appearance of this hotel , its just what was sold to me and the lack of this franchises reservation process. The room was up there in price and unfortunately I sacrificed what I thought I paid for and ended up feeling like we lost privacy and comfort. I don't think I would stay at this hotel again due to there hard beds or false advertising. I didn't use a third party hotels.com ,priceline,,,ect I booked directly with the Hilton. Hilton stands for something I though and in the end I left disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Valued guest,

We’re glad you chose to stay at The Hilton Garden Inn during your visit to South Padre Island. We’d like to thank you for your time to write such a thorough review about our hotel. We’re truly sorry for the inconvenience you encountered regarding the room view you had specified. We will be discussing this with the proper management to avoid any future inaccuracies. Please do not allow this to impede any future stays with us on your visits to South Padre Island. We hope that you reconsider staying with us to permit us to provide you with a flawless experience next time around.

Sincerely,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a junior sweet that was just as described. Beds were comfortable and had a great view of the pool and the gulf. There was a large stain in the carpet but other than that everything was clean and nice. The staff was always polite and helpful. Ana, our waitress, was especially great to us. We loved that it was at the end of the hotels giving us a less crowded beach. We enjoyed the fireworks on Friday. It has good beach access, just a short walk down the hotel boardwalk.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed the facilities and were able to relax on your trip in South Padre. Our pool and specular views can easily do that to you! Your feedback truly means a lot to us and has been shared with the entire team. Thank you for selecting us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Took a mini vacation with 2 teenage boys to the area. Had a great time. Loved the ocean view and access to the beach. Enjoyed the availability of the Wave bus. No rental car required. The accomodations were adaquate for our needs. Appreciated the free in-room wifi and the breakfast bar. Spent most of our time away from the hotel on the Island and on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Stacie,

Thank you for your awesome review! We’re very pleased you and your boys enjoyed your mini vacation and our amenities. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We enjoyed our gulf front room and the seasonal fireworks display at the Hilton Garden Inn, SPI. Our suite was beautifully furnished, including an extremely comfortable bed with a choice of synthetic or feather pillows. The entire staff of the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly, making our stay very enjoyable. The Hilton Garden is on the beach, providing literally miles to walk in the surf with beautiful sunrises and sunsets. In addition to the beach access, the hotel is walking distance to the SPI Bird Sanctuary and convention center which are must see locations for any birder or nature lover.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Mark,

We’re extremely pleased to read you had an awesome stay with us during your visit in SPI. We aim to exceed every guest’s expectations and glad our staff was able to do so for you. Thank you for choosing us and writing this thoughtful review. We hope you will choose us again the next time you visit South Padre.

Best regards,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is the bey hotel on South Padre Island, and if that wasn't enough Amy did an outstanding job assisting us with our check in. She is exactly the kind of person that Hilton wants representing them. Very helpful and friendly. Dem was also very helpful. Great staff and wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Henry,

Thank you for your selecting the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted you and your spouse enjoyed our immaculate hotel and Amy and Dem’s exceptional guest assistance. We're committed to providing our guests with a top notch hotel experience. We'll look forward to your next visit!

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.