We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Inclusive Exclusive Deal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, United States
1 review
“Very close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

we stayed there with my family and rooms were clean and easy access to the beach and back to the pool, everyone was really nice I will definitely recommend this hotel. The breakfast in the morning is AWESOME, the price is just right less than $10 and you don't have to go anywhere and lunch/dinner is also great prices and really good food. all families should come to this hotel I really recommend to all my family and Friends to come and the price is just right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for making our day with your great review! We are overwhelmed by your kind comments. Moreover, we are ecstatic that you and your family had enjoyed your stay by taking advantage of our beach front location and awesome breakfast, lunch, and dinner specials. Thank you so much for delighting us with your presence and for choosing the Hilton Garden in to stay at. We hope to see you and your family once again for another SPI experience.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    226
    82
    40
    21
See reviews for
276
283
15
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

There is nothing really wrong with this property. It is pretty clean, the rooms are large and the staff friendly. We got a great deal so have little to complain about other than the beds. I like a firm mattress but this was ridiculous. Hard as a rock. The pool area is large and attractive. When we were there it was packed with families with small children so the beach was a better option. Note the Hilton does not have beach chairs and if you want shade (you will) you will be paying a hefty $25 for a pair of chairs and an umbrella for the day. The beach is lovely though and some rooms have a terrific view. Even the lesser views are pretty nice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We apologize about the mattress you slept on during your stay with us. We are ashamed you felt our beds were hard as a rock and uncomfortable for you. Thank you for informing us as we value each guest concerns and try to implement the best plan to ensure guest satisfaction. We will assess an evaluation on our mattresses to correct this issue. Aside from that, we are glad you still had a great time and enjoyed our hotel and its amenities. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to service you in the future.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Hilton Garden is located towards the end of the busy street that traverses South Padre making it a little less congested. The rooms are huge and all overlook the pool and the beach in the distance. The restaurant was willing to bring me my lunch poolside instead of having to eat inside. Located right across the street from the Birding Center and Turtle hospital, it is easy to spend the day without a car seeing the sights and enjoying the beach. A shuttle bus does take guests down the main street for shopping or restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second to 4th floor have a view of the beach but first floor rooms are poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest,

It has been a pleasure reading your kind review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. We are very pleased you had enjoyed our huge room and our superb waiters which contributed to your great stay. Thank you for choosing us and leaving this wonderful review. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very satisfied with hotel, service and location. I did not know what to expect but a very nice hotel in a very nice location. A short walk out back to the beautiful beach. I would recommend the South Padre Hilton Garden Inn to everyone; I will visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear guest,

We are thankful you took the time to submit a kind review for us and fellow Trip Advisors users. It was an honor to accommodate you as you enjoyed yourself with our amenities. We are thrilled to read you were very satisfied with our beautiful location, boardwalk to the beach, and overall our hotel. Thank you choosing us and we are looking forward to seeing you for another wonderful vacation.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked two nights on Expedia and paid for "Room charge, taxes, and fees" up front. Upon checking out, a Resort Fee Tax was added to my bill for each night. Complaints to the front desk and Expedia did nothing. This was a nice property and it was really a shame that they had this back door fee.

Room Tip: OceanView and PoolView rooms are both on the same side of the hotel with the same view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and addressing your concern. We are very sorry you were unaware of our resort fee; customer satisfaction is always our main priority. It’s never our intention to surprise guest with fees. However, we do charge a resort fee, which is not a tax, but a service charge that goes directly toward offsetting the costs of such guest services as pool towels, the fastest guest internet service on South Padre Island, and several of our in-room amenities. We do not wish to nickel-and-dime guests with many small charges for small amenities, and instead charge a low amount per night to offset our costs, and continue to deliver these services to all guests. I hope the confusion regarding our resort fee will not alter your decision to return the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First the Pros... This hotel is in a great location. It is right on the beach and at the end of the main hotel strip, so the beach is not super crowded, especially if you walk down the beach a little bit. It is right across the street from the Birding Center, which we enjoyed. The hotel itself is nice and serves a delicious breakfast for about $10 with omelet station and pretty much anything else you would want. One of our favorite things about this hotel was the free Saturday night luau and fireworks. We didn't know about this until we got there, but we were so glad we went. The luau started at 8:30 and then the fireworks were immediately afterward at 9:15, right behind the hotel. You could not have a better viewing area for fireworks! It was great. We also appreciated that management was walking around the pool area checking for wristbands and making sure everyone in the pool was staying at the hotel.

Now for the cons... The hotel seemed to have very thin walls and floors. It was NOISY! The people above us woke us up at 2:50 the first night and 4:30 the second night. Both times we had trouble going back to sleep. I don't know what they were doing, but it sounded like they were stomping and constantly dropping things. The noise in the hallway was also very loud. As others have reported, the beds are very uncomfortable. They advertise the beds as having "adjustable" firmness, but the knob doesn't seem to do anything, and the mattress felt like sleeping on the floor, no matter the setting. The combination of the noise and uncomfortable bed led to two practically sleepless nights. One other minor complaint was our view. We booked our room using Hilton points, so we did not expect to have a fabulous view. However, our "view" was of the roof, and the pyramid-shaped entrance area of the hotel was directly in front of our room. Meaning, pretty much all we saw from our balcony was roof and this pyramid. We asked to be moved to a higher floor and were told no rooms were available. We then asked if we could pay to upgrade to a better view, and were again told no rooms were available. This was a minor inconvenience since we weren't in our room that much anyway, but we would have enjoyed actually being able to use the balcony.

All in all, I would stay here again but ask for a room on the top floor to hopefully have less noise. I probably would have given the hotel 3 stars if not for the free luau and fireworks, which were unexpected and great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor so you don't have people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are very happy you enjoyed the luau girls and the fireworks on the beach happening every Saturday. On the other hand, we are very sorry you had restless nights due to the noise from other guests and your uncomfortable bed. We are currently creating a system to reduce the noise made by other guests by placing them next to others with the same or similar party size. We also want to apologize for our beds being an inconvenience for you. You should have experienced nothing less than a great night sleep. We are taking action by checking all beds to ensure one’s sleep quality. Thank you for choosing us and for delighting us with your presence. We will look forward to seeing you once again.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Vernon, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved staying at the Hilton Garden Inn. It is right on the beach and we loved the big pool.
What an awesome breakfast buffet! The convenience of the pantry for snacks and other items was great. All the employees went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable. We will definitely be returning here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We are more than happy you will be returning soon. We take great pleasure reading great reviews like yours. We are thrilled you like our breakfast buffet, big pool, and the excellent staff that made our stay very comfortable. Thank you for choosing us and we will be looking forward to your arrival the next time you visit SPI for another island getaway.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.