We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beach Package
Castle Rock, United States
1 review
“Very nice hotel - good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is right on the beach. We had a nice view of the ocean and the pool. Our extra perk was to watch the weekend fireworks from our balcony. The staff was efficient, friendly and the room was very clean. We will definitely stay at the Hilton again the next time we go to South Padre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We are ecstatic you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking time out to write us a review. We are overwhelmed you had a very nice stay with us enjoying our location, fireworks every Saturday, and the presence of our outstanding staff members. Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn and we look forward to seeing you the next time you’re in SPI.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    169
    66
    26
    12
See reviews for
164
198
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Let's just say that this hotel is always at/near capacity due to how new it is, proximity to convention center and the restaurants. Do not expect to get any perks you would normally expect based on Hilton Hhonors status.

Also, do NOT go to South Padre Island with a dog. This is the most unfriendly pet city you'll ever see. Very odd for a beach town.

Room Tip: Pay for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are sad you didn’t feel fully satisfied with your stay with us. We hope you were still able to enjoy yourself and South Padre Island. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn and we are looking forward to getting another shot to prove ourselves.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Pros- Great Location, visually pleasing hotel, great ocean access, great pool, spacious room

Cons, Hallways were extremely hot, stepped off the elevator and before we made it to our room we were sweating. Sleep number beds, oh come on......the knob doesn't even work, it's all for looks, or was stripped out. It was like sleeping on the floor. My back hurt the majority of the trip due to this bed. The washer in the laundry area was so dirty and smelled sour. Staff was rude especially in the restaurant area. They just stood around, and it took forever to get drinks refilled, but when it was time to go....there they were being ever so helpful, waiting with their hand open for the tip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. We are happy your enjoyed our location, beach access, and pool area. On the other hand, it deeply sadden by the problems you encountered during your stay. We apologize for your bed not working, the elevator, laundry area, and for our staff. There is no excuse to while you didn't feel satisfied during your stay with us. Customer Service is our top priority and is part of our continuous training. We are taking action against these problems to ensure guests a wonderful experience. We hope you will give us another chance to prove ourselves the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great location. Not a bad view. But terrible musty smell in hallway and room. Tried to switch tonight and got stale tobacco smell as a second choice. We'll see what tomorrow brings as dar as room options - or we are out of here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We want to deeply apologize for the smell you experienced in the hallway and room. This is unacceptable to our reputation. We hold cleanliness as a top priority and can assure you this will not happen again. Once again we are very sorry for the inconveniences and hope the remainder stay was nothing less than perfect. Thank you for choosing us and we hope you will give us another shot the next time your visit SPI.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was the second time when I and my family stayed at this hotel. We selected this hotel after last year stays here and the experience overall was very satisfied. Room is clean. Food at the restaurant is OK, all activities is close to the hotel location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Garden Inn on South Padre Island year after year. We are thrilled you had an awesome memorable experience with us. We always strive to fulfill a guest’s satisfaction and we are happy to have done just that for you. We look forward to seeing you again for another peaceful stay in SPI.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

One of the nicer swimming pools with a wading area for small children. We ran into a couple of issues in our room and the staff responding quickly to resolve them. I would like to give Krystal a special thank you for helping us with a reservation issue - help fix a mistake I made. Short walk to the beach. The breakfast was excellent/fresh and our waitress was really nice. We stayed in a mini-suite with a medium-sized room separate from the main bedroom, which is extremely nice when you have small children. I would like to recommend that the hotel install some type of partition between the two rooms. Hotel was very clean and well maintained. Everyone we

Room Tip: Recommend that you try to get the breakfast package. The breakfast was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted you had a great and enjoyable stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. Thank you for complementing our breakfast, staff members (especially Krystal), and your suite. . Our staff will be pleased to know that they have been very accommodating and helpful. Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn and we hope to see you the next time you’re in SPI.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days last week enjoying the warm sun despite the haze coming from Mexico as the farmers burned off their fields. The water here is a pretty shade of blue green and very clear. The beaches are reached by boardwalks over the dunes and are well maintained by tractors every morning. This hotel is on the beach while most are not. Hotel has restaurant with a bar which gives it a more homey feeling as opposed to others.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. We are happy you enjoyed the clean beach, hotel restaurant/bar, and the closeness of the birding center. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn and we hope to see you and your husband back soon.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.