Out of the 60+ hotel I've stayed in during the last few years, this is the worst. Although the pool is nice and you can access the beach, there is a severe lack of attitude and scams of clients going on.
We wanted to upgrade to a suite with seaview. We accepted to pay 48+14% tax from what later turned out to be the manager. When the bill came, it was 48,80+23% tax! The front desk didn't see any problem. I had to argue for a long time to get the "resort tax" of 4 usd removed. They did not lower the invoice amount but just removed the tax. Either they are committing tax fraud OR adding additional charges and calling these taxes. Either way, it's illegal and unethical and I'm pretty sure Hilton does not approve of this.
Scamming clients is wuite normal in low-end tourist hotels like this, and normally they smile and give up when you point it out. But this was nowhere near that. They have a service promise in the room, saying you should be satisfied or do not have to pay. Since I was lied to by the manager about the price and a "scam tax" was added, I was not happy about paying the bill. The front desk told me they cannot do anything since the manager isn't there. I asked about the sign on the wall saying "Manager on duty". The explained it means "...except not now."
They promised to fix this and call. Obviously, they never did. Dear hilton, our relationship is over if this is the standard you approve and support.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
We sincerely apologize for your unfortunate experience at our hotel. We wish to assure you and all reviewers that we do our best to uphold and exceed the standards of service set forth by Hilton Garden Inn, and that we are in fact a Hilton Garden Inn. We do not want to cause any confusion for our future guests.
Also, we do not impose any fraudulent taxes on our guests. We do, however, charge a resort fee, which is not a tax, but a service charge that goes directly toward offsetting the costs of such guest services as pool towels, the fastest guest internet service on South Padre Island, and several of our in-room amenities. We do not wish to nickel-and-dime guests with many small charges for small amenities, and instead charge a low amount per night to offset our costs, and continue to deliver these services to all guests.
We are constantly working to improve our guest service level, and we will take into consideration your concerns about our resort fee. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.