We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial Day review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, United States
1 review
“Memorial Day review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was the second time when I and my family stayed at this hotel. We selected this hotel after last year stays here and the experience overall was very satisfied. Room is clean. Food at the restaurant is OK, all activities is close to the hotel location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Andriy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Garden Inn on South Padre Island year after year. We are thrilled you had an awesome memorable experience with us. We always strive to fulfill a guest’s satisfaction and we are happy to have done just that for you. We look forward to seeing you again for another peaceful stay in SPI.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

One of the nicer swimming pools with a wading area for small children. We ran into a couple of issues in our room and the staff responding quickly to resolve them. I would like to give Krystal a special thank you for helping us with a reservation issue - help fix a mistake I made. Short walk to the beach. The breakfast was excellent/fresh and our waitress was really nice. We stayed in a mini-suite with a medium-sized room separate from the main bedroom, which is extremely nice when you have small children. I would like to recommend that the hotel install some type of partition between the two rooms. Hotel was very clean and well maintained. Everyone we

Room Tip: Recommend that you try to get the breakfast package. The breakfast was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted you had a great and enjoyable stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. Thank you for complementing our breakfast, staff members (especially Krystal), and your suite. . Our staff will be pleased to know that they have been very accommodating and helpful. Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn and we hope to see you the next time you’re in SPI.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days last week enjoying the warm sun despite the haze coming from Mexico as the farmers burned off their fields. The water here is a pretty shade of blue green and very clear. The beaches are reached by boardwalks over the dunes and are well maintained by tractors every morning. This hotel is on the beach while most are not. Hotel has restaurant with a bar which gives it a more homey feeling as opposed to others.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenthereboerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. We are happy you enjoyed the clean beach, hotel restaurant/bar, and the closeness of the birding center. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn and we hope to see you and your husband back soon.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here in March and thought that Spring Break was the week of 3/11, so we decided to come on 3/17 (stayed 2 nights) in hopes that all of the Spring Breakers would be heading home...bad decision...apparently Spring Break was still going on. There are signs around the hotel saying they pride themselves on a good nights sleep, but they didn't do anything about all of the yelling that was going on both of the nights that we stayed there. The hotel was very clean and nice, but not peaceful. If they are going to be a party hotel for Spring Break, they should warn you when you book the room that it will be noisy and to stay somewhere else for peace and quite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffany7_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us during your stay in South Padre Island. We apologize you didn't receive the satisfaction you desired. The entire month of March brings in spring breakers from all over the country and it can get pretty hectic. With that said, that is no reason why you shouldn't have received a good night sleep. We are taking your concern into consideration and creating a plan to reduce the amount of noise you experienced at night. Thank you for taking the
time to write us a review.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbo, Finland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Out of the 60+ hotel I've stayed in during the last few years, this is the worst. Although the pool is nice and you can access the beach, there is a severe lack of attitude and scams of clients going on.

We wanted to upgrade to a suite with seaview. We accepted to pay 48+14% tax from what later turned out to be the manager. When the bill came, it was 48,80+23% tax! The front desk didn't see any problem. I had to argue for a long time to get the "resort tax" of 4 usd removed. They did not lower the invoice amount but just removed the tax. Either they are committing tax fraud OR adding additional charges and calling these taxes. Either way, it's illegal and unethical and I'm pretty sure Hilton does not approve of this.

Scamming clients is wuite normal in low-end tourist hotels like this, and normally they smile and give up when you point it out. But this was nowhere near that. They have a service promise in the room, saying you should be satisfied or do not have to pay. Since I was lied to by the manager about the price and a "scam tax" was added, I was not happy about paying the bill. The front desk told me they cannot do anything since the manager isn't there. I asked about the sign on the wall saying "Manager on duty". The explained it means "...except not now."

They promised to fix this and call. Obviously, they never did. Dear hilton, our relationship is over if this is the standard you approve and support.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Trankkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HershalP, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hello Trankkis,

We sincerely apologize for your unfortunate experience at our hotel. We wish to assure you and all reviewers that we do our best to uphold and exceed the standards of service set forth by Hilton Garden Inn, and that we are in fact a Hilton Garden Inn. We do not want to cause any confusion for our future guests.

Also, we do not impose any fraudulent taxes on our guests. We do, however, charge a resort fee, which is not a tax, but a service charge that goes directly toward offsetting the costs of such guest services as pool towels, the fastest guest internet service on South Padre Island, and several of our in-room amenities. We do not wish to nickel-and-dime guests with many small charges for small amenities, and instead charge a low amount per night to offset our costs, and continue to deliver these services to all guests.

We are constantly working to improve our guest service level, and we will take into consideration your concerns about our resort fee. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel was good enough, and generally a nice choice for the island. For the first time of our many visits to S. Padre Island, we did not have a gulf view. To me that took away a big aspect that I enjoy there. It seems only the suites have a gulf view at this hotel, so it'd be worth it to pay up. We overlooked the hotel roof and could kind of see the bay in the distance, but the sunset was blocked. The room and shower were good and spacious, but rather generic, so it didn't feel like I was on a beach vacation while in the room. The bed was pretty hard and the pillows were super mushy. They brought us extras, which was nice, but didn't help too much. We were near the elevator and ice machines, but rarely heard any noise from there.
They did have Free and pay-per-view movies which we took advantage of in the evenings.
The staff was nice, but not over accommodating/professional. The gentleman manager was upbeat and great, but the rest of the staff seemed to just go through the motions. We are Hilton Honors members and that garnered us nothing extra.
The pool area was nice, but we have stayed at The Pearl many times in the past and enjoyed their facilities better.
I was very nice to be so close to Clayton's Beach Bar to enjoy the people and culture of the island. It was also a nice beach walk to the Wanna Wanna Beach Bar. (About a mile south)
The breakfast was quite good, but I thought it was included and it was not. The wifi was easy and had a great signal. They did give us a little bit of a late check out since our flight was not until 6:05pm, and that was very helpful!
Overall, a good, but kind of generic experience. I think we will go the condo route next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a gulf view overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trainerkristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We'd like to thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn South Padre island and for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you took advantage of our Hilton amenities including free pay-per-view movies and the large pool area. However, we are sorry you felt your stay with us was “generic”. We always want a customer to leave 100% satisfied with their stay. We feel ashamed we couldn't meet your expectations but we can assure you a different and better experience the next time around. Please give us another shot to prove our dedication to your satisfaction.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A great stay, the location is perfect, the rooms are spacious and clean (we had a jr suite with ocean view, good to see the sunrise), the hotel facilties leave you wanting for nothing. The hotel restaurant food was very good all the time and the breakfast buffet from 6 a.m. til 10:00 am cannot be beat with all you can eat and omelettes cooked to order. Very comfortable beds and pillows and everything you would need in the room such as hair dryer, iron etc. All the staff were polite and helpful and a standout being Felipe "Bruno" Castillo who went above and beyound with his knowledge, expertise, and demeanor that were first class. This is by far the all around best place to stay in S Padre, I say this with having visited the island for the last 13 years. Have stayed here before and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Moe290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your outstanding kind complements and comments regarding our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. We are overjoyed to read that you had a fantastic stay indulging yourself in our great amenities. Our staff we be pleased to find out that you had enjoyed their presence especially Bruno who is a valuable asset to our team. Thank you for choosing once again and hope you will be return soon for another relaxing great stay.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
4.0 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing