We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Inclusive Exclusive Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Leonard, Texas
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the second time I have taken my company to this hotel for a mini-vacation. The quality of the hotel is great, the location away from the big crowds is nice also. My employees enjoy staying here because of the great pool and hot tub and the ease in getting to the beach.

We had several meals there during our stay. The food was not bad for hotel food, but the service was always very slow. If you are in a hurry you had better go somewhere else. The lunch special is a pretty fair deal and they have it from 11am to 6pm. We will definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn again during your mini-vacation on South Padre Island. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, our pool, our hut tub, and the easy access to the beach. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    232
    84
    42
    22
See reviews for
284
290
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

First time to South Padre Island and the only thing I can say is that this has been a great vacation. We were only suppose to stay 2 nights then head to San Anotonio, but extended stay for 2 extra days.

The hotel property is the best value for any family for both lodging and food. Daily buffet breakfast was excellent. Easy access to the beach. Not much to complain about regarding this property. I have stayed at much more expensive properties and they could not beat this property on the combination of value, service and overall experience. We will definitely be back for another stay.!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn during your first vacation in South Padre Island. We are very pleased to read we have made you and your family's spring break one to remember. We appreciate you taking the time to share this with us and fellow travelers. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great location north of downtown congestion, and across the highway from the convention center with its free Laguna Madre Nature (mostly birding) trail boardwalk.
Parking lot is large and is all brick pavers. Hotel is in excellent condition and looks very nice.
Our room was on 3rd floor and had a large balcony with 2 cushioned chairs and a large table on it. We could see the Gulf shore from there. Hope there isn't a big building put in next door on the vacant lot just north of the hotel to block that view. Our room was large and nicely appointed.
Breakfast was excellent, omelet station (onion, tomato, diced ham, bacon, bell petter, spinich & cheese add-ins), another station w/eggs to order or various grilled items, waffles, oatmeal w/ brown sugar,raisins & cranberries (no nuts). Activia & other yogurts, sausage & lots of other choices, diced potatoes made from fresh. Some nits: Wi-fi and wired internet was fairly slow and the bath exhaust fan was fairly noisy and was tied in with the light switch. We could also hear the fans of adjoining rooms. Each evening, we heard someone marching/stomping across over our ceiling. We kept thinking they would stop, so didn't try to get someone to intervene.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other valued Trip Advisor users. We are glad you enjoyed your room (despite the stomping sounds from the floor above) and enjoyed our omelet station during breakfast. Thank you again for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn on South Padre Island. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for the spring break weekend with my wife and two kids. The hotel check in time is 3:00pm, and I arrived 2 hour early. Because of the spring break, the hotel is very busy. The standard room I booked is not ready at that time, while I was waiting, the front desk manager upgrade me to a ocean view Jr suite. I was very surprised. The room is huge, and very clean. It even had a microwave. We enjoy staying at this Hilton Garden Inn. The Staff was all very accomodating and all very nice. If there was anything you needed they tried to help you. The hotel pool is very big and clean, the food is good too, and the price you can't beat. I would recommend South Padre Island Hilton Garden Inn to anyone. My family enjoyed the stay very much, and will stay at this hotel again next time to the Island.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear RonnieC,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you had enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you pointing out the cleanliness of our hotel, the hard working staff, and our great food. Our staff will be pleased knowing they accommodated you in every way. Please come visit us again during your next stay to South Padre Island.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Plain, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The employees were so great and we loved the place. Great pool and location. Can't wait to go back. It will definitely be a repeat location. Loved a bar in the area called Pier Street great everything.

Room Tip: Not sure if you can get a king bed with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Pam,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with at the Hilton Garden Inn during your stay in South Padre Island. We are happy you loved our pool and location. Please come see us again it’s been a pleasure having you. Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn and sharing your experience with us.

Thanks,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Garden on SPI Feb 28 to Mar 5, 2013. We were so impressed with the hotel! Every single employee went out of their way to please. Not the fake kind either. They really wanted to make sure our stay was exceptional. We loved the hotel, the food, the bar, the pool, hot tubs, our room and the location. The positive attitude of the staff made our day. We simply can't say enough good things about them. Corporate should be very pleased.

This was our first visit to SPI. We flew direct to Harlingen from Minneapolis and rented a car. We intended to beat most of the spring break crowd and hoped the sun would be warm enough to lay out by the pool. We accomplished both. Loved the island. Very easy to get around. Taxi service, if not waiting outside, arrived within 5 minutes. Suggest the Sea Ranch for a high-end dinner. The food and drinks were amazing. Palm Street Pier had the best margaritas, great price too! We visited most of the bars on the bay side that were on the water. Each had their own charm. On the ocean side, we stopped at the Wanna Wanna bar, and the Pearl and Isla Grand hotels. These too had their own charm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear SunnySkies64,

We are very grateful you have shared your experience with us. We are very happy to know you chose to stay with us during your first visit to South Padre Island. Our staff is thrilled you had indeed enjoyed our hotel, the bar, and our amenities which created a fantastic vacation for you and your wife.
We were happy to make your day and can't wait to see you again for your second vacation to South Padre Island. Thank you again for your endless gratitude.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lidgerwood
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We loved staying at the Hilton Garden in. It was clean and roomy. The Staff was all very accomodating and all very nice, from the front desk to the waiters to the cleaning staff and maintenence men. If there was anything you needed they tried to help you. I loved the pool and the business center was nice. We didnt need to drag our computer along. The food is good and the price you cant beat. The pork chops.and hamburger meals were our favorite. The price was good for the winter texans, I love being a winter texan. I would recommend the Hiton Garden to anyone.

Room Tip: Dont get a room above the conference center on a saturday night . The music can sometimes be heard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn and leaving us with your kind comments. We enjoyed reading that you had an excellent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn during your visit to South Padre Island. We are glad you found our business center convenient and accommodating. Our staff will be happy to know they made your stay with us a pleasurable one. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.