We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend for Winter Texans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Virden, Mb.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Highly recommend for Winter Texans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The accomodations and location at the north end of the "strip" make this an excellent choice for long-stays..We found the pleasant social interactions with the other Winter Texans and so many of the staff really contributed to a very enjoyable stay.The pool,restaurant and oceanfront rooms are outstanding. The minor annoyances could be corrected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay. We are very pleased you had indeed enjoyed your stay. Our staff will be happy you found the pool, the inside restaurant, and your room outstanding. We are glad you had a great South Padre Island experience. Thank you again for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    187
    71
    26
    12
See reviews for
196
215
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn in South Padre is the best place to stay period!! I stayed in Room 109 and it was a gorgeous sweet right off the pool with a view of the ocean. The room was very quite and the beds are awesome!! You can adjust the firmness of the bed!!!

I happened to bump into the General Manager Duvin and I must say he and his whole staff were very accommodating and helpful. Duvin suggested a wonderful restaurant to eat at called Dirty Al's. If you get the chance eat there. It's a hole in the wall but the food is delicious!

Trust me when I say the only place to stay is at the Hilton Garden Inn!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Justin,

We appreciate your very kind comments and taking the time to share your experience with valued Trip Advisor users. We are delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay and our amenities including our ocean view, pool, and comfortable bed. Our staff will be happy to know they were very accommodating and helpful towards you. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, IA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was very pleased with our accomodations at the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, Texas. Our room #247 was large with a partial view of the ocean from the little deck with a couple of chairs. Sunrise was awesome.

The bathroom was big, identical to the one in the McAllen, TX location and very clean. My only complaint was the amount of light in there, it could be brighter. Also, this location had much quieter rooms than McAllen. I couldnt hear anything outside my room window or door.

The hotel is in walking distance via the pool area decks of the LaQuina and the Hilton connected to Claytons Beach Bar. This was very nice. I liked their huge deck. Too bad the weather was only in the 60's when we were there. The beach wasnt groomed, but it was beautiful! Hopefully the drift fencing will come down before the busy season.

Definitely would stay here again. The place was clean, the staff were very friendly, and i must say engaging. The manager must do a good job, becuase these folks enjoyed their work. You can tell from their attitudes and smiling faces everywhere you looked.

Room Tip: If you like sunrises make sure to get a room on the north side of the hotel. The south side provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other valued Trip Advisor users. We are glad you were very pleased during your stay with us. We appreciate you complementing the cleanliness of the hotel and the hard working staff. Thank you again for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn. Come visit us again during the summer for 90+ degree weather. See you here!

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My first time ever to South Padre and I could not have been happier with our choice of places to stay, even from the locals, I learned that the Hilton has the best food on the island, hard to beat the $5.99 dinner special! Rooms were great, beach was covered in jellyfish, but certainly not the Hilton's fault, so we enjoyed the pool and hot tubs instead.

Room Tip: If you want pool view of beach view, you will pay a bit more, we did not get that but did not miss i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Betti B,

Thank you for leaving us a very kind worded review. We are happy you had lots of fun staying with us. Our staff will be glad to know you had enjoyed the restaurant inside the Hilton, the pool, and hot tubs. We appreciate you choosing the Hilton Garden Inn and hope to see you again in the future.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Bluff, Alabama
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were more than pleased with our accomodations at the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, Texas. Our room was huge with a view of the ocean (we were on the North side of the building). The bathroom was also big and had a great exhaust fan - thus no foggy mirror!

The pool area was on the ocean side of the building, which is kid friendly, and it also has a hot tub area. There were plenty of lounge chairs and a covered lanai area for those wanting a shady spot. Also, it is just a short walk to the beach. There was also a wedding near the beach one night with a deck for the ceremony. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Make your reservations early with the HGI - they get busy on the weekends and holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of the Hilton Garden Inn. Our staff is thrilled that you were more than pleased with our service. We are glad you have relished your time staying with us during your visit to South Padre Island. Thank you once again for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I also stayed on February 14 and 15. The water problems caused the fire alarms to go off during the night and again the next morning. Did not get much sleep that night. No water the next morning and I was not able to take a shower. Rooms need work. Old and tired. Resturant was full and had to go elseware for dinner. I am not sure if I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We appreciate your comments and concerns but disappointed we failed to exceed your expectations. We sincerely apologize about the water and alarms issues. We understand this can be very frustrating on a business trip. We plan to install an additional water pump soon to keep water pressure at a more favorable level throughout our hotel, especially during times of city-wide water pressure problems. Thank you for selecting us and we hope you will give us another shot the next time you’re visiting the island.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Garden at South Padre for a couple of nights (Feb 14-15), and loved it! There was a water problem on the island (not Hilton's fault), but the management were Great-especially Bruno, the General Manager! He went to everyone's table at mornings breakfast, and was everywhere-assuring customers that things were alright and would be taken care of. He discounted our rate for our stay because of the Water (sometimes we had low pressure, sometimes we had no water, but we always had a chance to take a shower or bath, and had plenty of water to drink) Main problem in the street in front of the Hotel. The food was great, the bartenders, waitresses, and room personell were good too. There was a beautiful parking area outside and plenty of room for our large truck! We loved it even though the weather was quite windy one of our days there, but we made the best of it and took long walks on the beach. The turtle reserve across the street was very interesting too! I would stay there again-especially because of the People who work there!

Room Tip: We had the ground floor and very near the pool. Even though there is no access through the private f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HershalP, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear schmalzie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at and for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island. We take great pride in providing a high level of service to all of our guests. This is why it pains us greatly to know that your stay was complicated by factor outside of our control, but we are certainly glad that our staff nonetheless made your stay as comfortable as possible.

We plan to install an additional water pump soon to keep water pressure at a more favorable level throughout our hotel, especially during times of city-wide water pressure problems.

Please come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.