We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Extended Stays
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our check in was so enjoyable, our attendant was so helpful and really went out of his was to obtain an ocean view room for us, including showing us two rooms, 2nd floor then advising we would have a better view on the 4th floor and brought us up to that room to see. He also included two breakfast buffets for us. The room was a King bed "suite", which we didn't even sit in the livingroom area as we were so excited to sit on our balconey and watch the ocean. It was very clean and comfortable. The weather in January was so nice, we slept with the balconey door open to hear the breakers all night. The buffet breakfast was excellent. All the staff were very polite and accomodating. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Ocean views are the way to go, the higher floor is best. If hesitant on the price, they will throw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Kathy,

We are delighted to hear your stay with us was awesome and enjoyable. We are glad you chose the room you wanted with a pleasurable view. Our staff will be thrilled to know they serviced you with an excellent breakfast and accommodated all of your needs. We have enjoyed your time with us and hope you choose us again.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    200
    77
    30
    15
See reviews for
241
241
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location is awesome, away from the strip and close to the beach. The only problem I had was they consistently forgot that I had upgraded my room. I would say don't bother with the addon packages they offer. The ocean view rooms are excellent, we slept with the door opened (and a/c turned off) and could hear the ocean all night.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on the south side of the hotel won't have very private balconies due to the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We'd like to thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn on South Padre Island and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry about the diffiiculity you experienced with your room but we are glad you had an overall great stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you,
Aaron Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed ourselves at this Hotel. These people take care of you and they make you feel welcome. Great group of people. Highly recommended. Make sure you take advantage of their breakfast. Not your normal Hotel breakfast.

Room Tip: They are all good facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Tim,

We are happy you absolutely enjoyed yourselves at the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island. Thank you for pointing out our great breakfast and awesome staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share this with the fellow travelers and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, IA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in December 2012. There was live music in the lobby bar that was enjoyable. We ordered room service for dinner and the service was prompt and the food was good. The breakfast was also very good. The lunch was wonderful and a great value (only $5.95 for many of the meals). The service was also great at the hotel restaurant. I can't think of anything negative about our stay at this hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth the price for an upgrade to an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and leaving excellent comments of your stay. We are thrilled to read that you had really enjoyed yourself at our hotel. We are glad you liked our unbeatable lunch prices, hotel rooms, and location. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again for another fun filled day on South Padre Island.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We have gone to this hotel many times and loved it. We decided to celebrate Thanksgiving with our family there in 2012. Our rooms were way below average. The doors were broke and the chairs on the balcony were faulty. On our last day there my dad tried to sit in a chair and it broke. He ripped something in his shoulder and hurt his head. He was bleeding. The hotel refused to offer the coverage of medical bills. My dad had to file on his own insurance. He is still in need of an MRI. He did not ask for anything but medical bills be covered. Conveniently the owner has never been available to talk about this. We have received the Hilton Corporate run around.

Staff:
The waiters in the restaurant are very nice and efficient. We did get ripped off in the restaurant because of a very rude manager. He talked bad about the staff to me. Blaming their ignorance for the misunderstanding over sour cream coming with quesadillas. We had ordered the same thing the day before and it came with sour cream. The next day it didn't. The manager made it very clear that is our problem not his.
I took up for the staff because they are seriously hard workers and showed much appreciation for our presence at the hotel. Overall this hotel has the potential to be excellent. The location, the facility, and the staff are Great. It's the management and ownership that will bring this hotel to decline. They do not care about the overall guest experience and would rather argue over something as simple as sour cream than make the customer happy. I'm now planning all of our short beach trips to Destin. They have ruined South Padre Island for my whole family.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvin M, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I regret you experienced this issue. I can assure you we take things like this very seriously and will look into this matter. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baslow, u.k.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Arrived very, very late but we had a pre paid room so we were not worried-----------however some one else was in it !!!!

They had sold our room twice and refused to refund us or even pay for the drinks whilst we waited for another room to be vacanted.

I had pre paid for 10 nights in their best rooms. This is not acceptable in any country in the world.

I will take them to court if its possible.

Otherwise its a nice 2/3 star hotel with excellent staff

Room Tip: Arrive early otherwise they will sell your room to someone else even if you have pre paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvin M, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience imposed during your recent stay. I appreciate your flexibility as we experienced an abnormal situation. Thank you for your review, I have contacted our front office department in regards to your comments and we are evaluating our policies and procedures. I do hope the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very pleased with the hotel. Very clean. Service was great. Treated like royalty. Used the pool as well as the beach. On windy days, we were able to sit by the pool because of the wind protection. The meals were great as well as reasonable charge. Has a very private workout room with a locked door for security.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.