We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Kingsville, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel is located at the North end of the poulation center on South Padre Island. Quiet and not too much traffic. Convenient to the beach. Staff was courteous and professional, Hotel was clean; Some fixtures in the room are worn, but the room is clean. Food was OK; $10 breakfast... not a good value in my opinion, but it is omelettes made to order... Recommended for couples and families. I found the location a little boring... If you're looking for a quiet retreat, I'd recommend this place...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    188
    71
    27
    13
See reviews for
206
216
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Hilton is located further down the island than other hotels, but still in a very nice location. It's right across from the bird sanctuary and near the sea turtle rescue. The beach and ocean are right out the back gate. Overall this hotel is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Spring for the partial or full ocean view. It's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

After I read the other reviews I had very high hopes but was really disappointed by the reality of this tired looking Hilton. I would like to start out by saying that the lobby is kept very clean and that the hotel pool is very large and fairly well maintained.

the restaurant serves all meals durning the day. The food is inexpensive and very low quality. he menu featured primarily bar type entrees. after several days of this food we felt unhealthy. I recommend D'Pizza about three miles away for a good pizza.

We had.mini suite on the top floor facing the ocean. The baloney was a nice size for enjoying the view. We were disappointed in how shabby and dirty the carpet, shower and walls were. I think the fact that people are permitted to bring dogs to stay contributes to the stains that were very noticeable on the floor. The large duel Paine window is full of condinisation making the large window an eye sore. To make matters worse the glass was filthy with hand prints and smudges. We asked for the window to be cleaned but that never happened. the white towels in the rooms were small, thread bear and dingy.

The large pool is which is below all the expensive view rooms is open for use until 11:00 pm. The laughing, horsing around and general loud party noise went on until well after midnight. I called the front desk twice. They sent out a tiny woman from the front desk to ask people to quite down. Needless to say this was ineffective and very annoying. Romantic enjoyment of the moon and ocean were not possible.

The last bit of information I would like to share is the view of the very large pipes that lead to an under ground sewer holding tank that is pumped out several times a day from a large boat is ever present when you are on your balcony or the surrounding beach. There was a massive pipe rupture while we were there and we watched thousands of gallons of raw sewage being leaked into the ocean about 300 feet from where hotel guests were playing in the water. There were no warning signs posted. This is outrageous!!

I would liken this hotel to one I stayed in in Mexico. be smart and stay somewhere else!!

Room Tip: I would select a top floor to be away from the pool noise. I would not pick a partial ocean view as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvin M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
On behalf of the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island we would like to apologize for the recent stay you had with us. The issues you have stated have been resolved and The window is scheduled to be replaced. We hope you will give us another opportunity on your next trip down to south padre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

WARNING: Ask them if they have any conventions going on for your dates! They had a convention during our stay and we had to park next door at the LaQuinta due to all the parking taken up by the daily attendees! Pretty bad when your a paying guest and you can't even park at your own hotel.

The pool was very large, lots of chairs to lay out in, 2 spas, and a waterfall kiddie pool. Ocean view balconies are very large. King suites were spacious (like a Embassy suites) with a living area and separate bedroom area so ideal for families or just wanting a bit of privacy from your work area. Nice restaurant, helpful and cheerful staff. No bar service at pool, so you have to go get your own drinks inside. They do offer weekly and monthly deeply discounted rates for Winter Texans. We wanted to stay for 3 days but it was cheaper to rent for a week in December.

Hotel is located at the far northeast end of the island so it's about 3-5 miles from the center of entertainment or dining. Directly across from the Sea Turtle Rescue (a must see for any animal lover).

Several red stains in our room and hallways (appeared to be from spilled drinks).The worse comment I can make is that they were cleaning constantly in the lobbies with a cleaner that smelled like Hexol (hospital smell) and it was an extremely offensive odor.

Overall the parking, smell of cleaners and a bit far in location was the only downfall. The hotel, pool area and views were great!

Room Tip: Oceanview suites are the best! Views of ocean and pool from a very large balcony. Ask for 3rd or 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is certainly nice compared to the others on the island, but it could be so much better if they would pay attention to some details! I stayed three nights over Thanksgiving with my husband and 9 year old daughter. We were on the 4th floor with a partial ocean view...the view was nice and the balcony big enough to lounge on (although no table on the balcony?). Also, the Thanksgiving buffet was really awful- food quality and choices not good at all. It was an odd atmosphere as well...some band playing, but just odd.

The positive stuff:
- Walk to the beach and it is a very nice part of the beach
- Big pool (although they said it was heated, but it wasn't)
- Two hot tubs
- Plenty of chairs by pool
- Nice showers to clean the sand off before you get to the pool
- Large rooms with fridge and micro
- Nice lobby and bar area
- Free parking
- Cute convenience shop onsite

Things that need to get improved:
- Front desk service lacking and didn't aknowledge hilton gold benefits
- The breakfast was "ok"- good service but the food never changed the entire time and the waffles and french toast was cold and soggy
- Room not that clean...sticky tables, etc.
- We had to ask 3 times for the room to be cleaned the first night- and finally after 5:00 PM they cleaned it
- Housekeeping never restocked anything- we had to call and ask for more shampoo and conditioner, more toilet paper, etc.
- The Thanksgiving dinner buffet was terrible
- Pool towels you have to ask for at the front desk
- No pool service
- We saw several cockroaches by the pool area

Again, it should be a nice hotel given it's location and it's pretty new...they just need to pay some attention to the details and the food quality.

We also ate at the South Padre Brewing Company and Pier 19 - both were great. We also went on the Pirate Ship tour and we had a fabulous time- much more fun than we thought it was going to be! Our nine year old love it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As an anniversary gift to my parents my husband and I stayed at this beautiful hotel for the thanksgiving weekend on the fourth floor in suites for two nights. We chose this hotel because it is across the street from the Birding Refuge and the Turtle Center. It is away from the busy part of the Island; The beach is less crowded and quitter. Great Sunrise from our balcony every morning while sipping coffee and sunsets in the evening drinking margaritas make for a romantic end to the day.

The pool and hot tubs are clean and beautiful. Ocean view rooms overlook the pool and the beach. There is a board walk to the beach.

Manny, Margaritas and Music are not to be missed! Manny at the bar will make you any drink you request. He made our visit fun. There is a great happy hour with $3 margaritas!!! Live music by a husband and wife team, "Mixed Bag" fun and very festive. You have to see/hear it to believe it.

Coffee was available in the lobby each morning.

The suites were large and clean with a large balcony with two lounge chairs, four chairs and a table. There were two large rooms; a bedroom and living room with a pull-out sofa-bed. Both rooms had large flat screen TV’s. The beds are so comfortable; the firmness is adjustable. There is a dial on both sides of the mattress to adjust each side to your desired comfort. The bathroom was a standard hotel bathroom. Coffee maker, frig in room. I asked if we had safes in the room and was told yes, both rooms were missing their safes. Called the front desk and within minutes, a man knocked on the door and replaced the safe. I did not put anything of value in the safe since they seem to be easily removed and replaced.

Breakfast was $9.99 per person. The staff in the dining room all worked very hard to make sure we had everything we needed for breakfast. There is both a buffet and hot made to order items. They offered everything I could think of for breakfast and more. Delicious and fresh.

Free parking, free internet. Business center with printer. Fitness room is on the first floor.

The hotel is so quiet. There were many college basketball teams staying at the hotel and we could not hear any noise in the halls or adjoining rooms.

I love this hotel and would probably stay again next year and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying on South Padre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Loved the hotel and location. Clean and amazing rooms. Only issue was the high price of room service, but the food was quite good at least. The rooms are large and the views are amazing. The pool is large and fun, and the hottubs are fun. If the pool was heated that would have made it perfect.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.