We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location- OK hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Inclusive Exclusive Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice location- OK hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is certainly nice compared to the others on the island, but it could be so much better if they would pay attention to some details! I stayed three nights over Thanksgiving with my husband and 9 year old daughter. We were on the 4th floor with a partial ocean view...the view was nice and the balcony big enough to lounge on (although no table on the balcony?). Also, the Thanksgiving buffet was really awful- food quality and choices not good at all. It was an odd atmosphere as well...some band playing, but just odd.

The positive stuff:
- Walk to the beach and it is a very nice part of the beach
- Big pool (although they said it was heated, but it wasn't)
- Two hot tubs
- Plenty of chairs by pool
- Nice showers to clean the sand off before you get to the pool
- Large rooms with fridge and micro
- Nice lobby and bar area
- Free parking
- Cute convenience shop onsite

Things that need to get improved:
- Front desk service lacking and didn't aknowledge hilton gold benefits
- The breakfast was "ok"- good service but the food never changed the entire time and the waffles and french toast was cold and soggy
- Room not that clean...sticky tables, etc.
- We had to ask 3 times for the room to be cleaned the first night- and finally after 5:00 PM they cleaned it
- Housekeeping never restocked anything- we had to call and ask for more shampoo and conditioner, more toilet paper, etc.
- The Thanksgiving dinner buffet was terrible
- Pool towels you have to ask for at the front desk
- No pool service
- We saw several cockroaches by the pool area

Again, it should be a nice hotel given it's location and it's pretty new...they just need to pay some attention to the details and the food quality.

We also ate at the South Padre Brewing Company and Pier 19 - both were great. We also went on the Pirate Ship tour and we had a fabulous time- much more fun than we thought it was going to be! Our nine year old love it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    231
    84
    42
    21
See reviews for
283
288
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As an anniversary gift to my parents my husband and I stayed at this beautiful hotel for the thanksgiving weekend on the fourth floor in suites for two nights. We chose this hotel because it is across the street from the Birding Refuge and the Turtle Center. It is away from the busy part of the Island; The beach is less crowded and quitter. Great Sunrise from our balcony every morning while sipping coffee and sunsets in the evening drinking margaritas make for a romantic end to the day.

The pool and hot tubs are clean and beautiful. Ocean view rooms overlook the pool and the beach. There is a board walk to the beach.

Manny, Margaritas and Music are not to be missed! Manny at the bar will make you any drink you request. He made our visit fun. There is a great happy hour with $3 margaritas!!! Live music by a husband and wife team, "Mixed Bag" fun and very festive. You have to see/hear it to believe it.

Coffee was available in the lobby each morning.

The suites were large and clean with a large balcony with two lounge chairs, four chairs and a table. There were two large rooms; a bedroom and living room with a pull-out sofa-bed. Both rooms had large flat screen TV’s. The beds are so comfortable; the firmness is adjustable. There is a dial on both sides of the mattress to adjust each side to your desired comfort. The bathroom was a standard hotel bathroom. Coffee maker, frig in room. I asked if we had safes in the room and was told yes, both rooms were missing their safes. Called the front desk and within minutes, a man knocked on the door and replaced the safe. I did not put anything of value in the safe since they seem to be easily removed and replaced.

Breakfast was $9.99 per person. The staff in the dining room all worked very hard to make sure we had everything we needed for breakfast. There is both a buffet and hot made to order items. They offered everything I could think of for breakfast and more. Delicious and fresh.

Free parking, free internet. Business center with printer. Fitness room is on the first floor.

The hotel is so quiet. There were many college basketball teams staying at the hotel and we could not hear any noise in the halls or adjoining rooms.

I love this hotel and would probably stay again next year and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying on South Padre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Loved the hotel and location. Clean and amazing rooms. Only issue was the high price of room service, but the food was quite good at least. The rooms are large and the views are amazing. The pool is large and fun, and the hottubs are fun. If the pool was heated that would have made it perfect.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a wonderful property!!! Location, Location, Location! The staff is exceptional. They truly care that your experience is the best it can be!!! "The Key to your DREAMS is in your hands." is printed on the envelope that holds your room keys...it is so true! When you open the door to your suite...walk out onto the balcony...hear the waves...yes, DREAMS come true! Irving is exemplary, he goes above and beyond to make your stay one that you will remember the rest of your life!!!

Room Tip: Ocean View Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

When we first walked into the hotel we noticed how clean and nice it was. For a beach town, there wasn't any sand or dirt to be seen. Our check in process was handled quickly and efficiently and we headed up to our fourth floor room with partial ocean view. Our room was immaculate and large enough to feel spacious - and the view was great. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony each evening, sipping on cocktails and listening to the waves.

And every member of the hotel staff, from the gentleman who brought us a new television remote control, to the front desk staff, to the bartenders with whom we spent an hour or so each night, were all very friendly and attentive. if we get another chance to make a trip to South Padre Island, I'm sure we will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Don't let the name fool you. It has a very diverse menu with extremely low prices. The restaurant runs specials daily that seem to last until 8:00 p.m. This includes food as well as drinks. The carbo bean soup is great (Mexicans consider this a bowl of beans) but has the consistency and taste of a good soup. Check out the seafood selections as well as the fish tacos in a corn tortilla with avacado. It is a very good choice. The chicken, grape sandwich with arvarde cheese sounds strange but is very delicious. Initially I did not want to eat at a Hilton, given all the restaurant selections of seafood on South Padre, but I am glad I did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We managed to snare this hotel for one week 11/1-07 for 50 bucks a nite on expedia. Beach side location with a good restaurant which was not too expensive. Across the street there is a sea turtle rescue facility and an elevated boardwalk where you can see many varied shore birds
highly recommended...

Room Tip: 4 th floor best choice ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island

Address: 7010 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton Garden Inn hotel is set among the dunes of the Gulf of Mexico beachfront and offers contemporary convenience on the north side of the island. We place you in the heart of the beach action where you can enjoy a gulf sunset, beach horseback riding, parasailing and more. We offer complimentary WiFi throughout our hotel along with a full-service bar and restaurant at the pool and deck. Check out what all our South Padre hotel has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.