We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and authentic with a great atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria

Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria
700 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
956-761-6111
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cozy and authentic with a great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We found Gabriella's to be a nice cozy place to unwind after a busy day on the beach. My daughter had the kids pizza, and it was amazingly good! My husband had the fettuccine alfredo and enjoyed his as well. I had the lasagna ($16) and although the ingredients seem fresh and it was perfectly constructed, the amount of sugar in the sauce rendered it almost inedible, for this reason I can not give five stars.. I reccomend the pizza!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    181
    45
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stop when you get tired of the fried food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice to sit down at a restaurant in Padre and be able to look around without thinking how nasty the place is. I'm all about a little character but some of the restaurants on Padre..eh, notsomuch. This was a GREAT sit down meal and most of the entrees could easily be split between two adults. Great bread, olive oil for dipping, good fresh salad and good entree.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Gabriella's. We sat outside on the patio because the weather was really nice that day. The portions were large and very tasty.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPI-Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sliding downhill.........please save the restaurant !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Recent lapses threaten one of the top 5 restaurants on the island. Hopefully somebody in charge will recognize "bigger isn't better, better is better" before its too late

Service that is much too slow for much

Stubborn refusal to cut fresh tomatoes from a salad so that everybody can enjoy the dining experience equally........

No green olives for pizza? Huh?

Two+ hours to deliver after quoting 45-50 mins and then show up with pizza at room temp and forgot the sides?

As soon as there is any competition we're gonna lose our old time favorite. What a shame

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in the Gulf of Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Who would think that South Padre Island would be home to the best Italian food you've ever eaten. Trust me. It is. I am torn about telling you about it. Don't want it to be more discovered than it is (sometimes there is a 2 hour wait -but if you plan to eat like the locals at 5-7 pm you can get right in and take your dessert to go. Do not leave the island without the Wedding Cake dessert. OMG, the best Italian Cream Cake on earth. But we are getting ahead of ourselves. Starting with warm welcome by the hostess and the top notch wait staff, and continuing with Tim, the manager and Arnie, one of the owners, stopping by to be sure all is good, you will feel like family before you finish the first course. No matter how slammed the staff, they make sure you are treated like a favorite relative coming over for supper.
Speaking of supper - we had the fried asparagus with anoli. Then we had the complimentary house bread with dipping sauce served with a cheese and pepperoni plate, and house salad served family style. Fabulous. Then Mark had the Sausage and spaghetti and I had the grilled mahi with parmesan risotto. By this point, we had already gotten a box for half of the asparagus, and yes, we each needed a box for our entrees. But that did not stop us from trying the wedding cake. Italian Cream Cake at its very best. Trust me. If you come to South Padre Island and do not try Gabriella's, you will be missing one of the best kept secrets of the Gulf of Mexico. Oh wait - it's not going to be secret for long. Word is that they are opening their second restaurant in Las Vegas this year. Wow. Just Wow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.