We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria

Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria
700 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
956-761-6111
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Gabriella's. We sat outside on the patio because the weather was really nice that day. The portions were large and very tasty.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    203
    54
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SPI-Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sliding downhill.........please save the restaurant !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Recent lapses threaten one of the top 5 restaurants on the island. Hopefully somebody in charge will recognize "bigger isn't better, better is better" before its too late

Service that is much too slow for much

Stubborn refusal to cut fresh tomatoes from a salad so that everybody can enjoy the dining experience equally........

No green olives for pizza? Huh?

Two+ hours to deliver after quoting 45-50 mins and then show up with pizza at room temp and forgot the sides?

As soon as there is any competition we're gonna lose our old time favorite. What a shame

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in the Gulf of Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Who would think that South Padre Island would be home to the best Italian food you've ever eaten. Trust me. It is. I am torn about telling you about it. Don't want it to be more discovered than it is (sometimes there is a 2 hour wait -but if you plan to eat like the locals at 5-7 pm you can get right in and take your dessert to go. Do not leave the island without the Wedding Cake dessert. OMG, the best Italian Cream Cake on earth. But we are getting ahead of ourselves. Starting with warm welcome by the hostess and the top notch wait staff, and continuing with Tim, the manager and Arnie, one of the owners, stopping by to be sure all is good, you will feel like family before you finish the first course. No matter how slammed the staff, they make sure you are treated like a favorite relative coming over for supper.
Speaking of supper - we had the fried asparagus with anoli. Then we had the complimentary house bread with dipping sauce served with a cheese and pepperoni plate, and house salad served family style. Fabulous. Then Mark had the Sausage and spaghetti and I had the grilled mahi with parmesan risotto. By this point, we had already gotten a box for half of the asparagus, and yes, we each needed a box for our entrees. But that did not stop us from trying the wedding cake. Italian Cream Cake at its very best. Trust me. If you come to South Padre Island and do not try Gabriella's, you will be missing one of the best kept secrets of the Gulf of Mexico. Oh wait - it's not going to be secret for long. Word is that they are opening their second restaurant in Las Vegas this year. Wow. Just Wow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

With the kids (teenagers) for a quick beach trip in early summer. Service was great, food fresh and atmosphere was perfect after a day at the beach. Very attentive staff and the wonderful aromas when walking in the door made the mouth water. Will make this one a stop or two every time in S Padre!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delicious Old School Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Gabriellas served up some yummy Italian eats. Italian nachos and spaghetti was great. Great beer selection, too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabriella's Italian Grill & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.