We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Go” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Tours

Isla Tours
1 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
956-761-4752
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Isla Tours offers a variety of family fun filled activities for all ages. We offer dolphin watching, sunset dolphin watch cruises, eco tours, firework cruises, port of Brownsvillke nature tours, bay and deep sea fishing. Our friendly captains and crew work to ensure your family has a safe and fun trip. Our vessels are safe, clean, and US Coast Guard approved. Private party trips available. Let us take care of you and your family while on vacation... Your adventure starts with us!
Mexia, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No Go”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited the Island over the New Year holidays, and were in South Padre for six days. We wanted to do a Port of Brownsville Tour. When I called, I found the tours were only offered on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9am-1pm. Weather caused the Tuesday tour to be canceled. Better weather was predicted for the Thursday date and the decision had to be made by Wednesday. There is a minimum of 20 people for a trip, and apparently they 20 minimum could not be made, so there was no trip or tour this week. We had no tour or dolphin watch or anything. It is not the fault of the owners, but do not plan on having something to do when you visit South Padre.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    1
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fireworks cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our third outing on the Friday night fireworks cruise and once again it was very enjoyable. Trip consists of a dolphin search in the lower bay and then a trip to the upper bay (complete with D J music and a disco ball) for the fireworks. Great fun, all of the other cruise boat passengers wished they were a part of the good times being had on our boat. The captain and crew were very professional and provided a very good trip for the money

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Less Eco more Dolphins!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We went on the dolphin watch tour. (I didn't want to do the Eco one). But they added the Eco tour for ours. It was a very, very slow beginning. We 'had' to redo the netting because apparently we didn't catch anything the first time. We only spend maybe 20 min to look for dolphins. We only saw a few WAY back. I rather would have spent more time out in the ocean than looking for a puffer fish. (Which I didn't want in the first place). We did get a great deal for the tickets and the captain was very entertaining. If you get bored, do a tour with them. It's worth it!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW,Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dolphin/Eco Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

First off, it's very affordable. I compared several of the local dolphin tours and this was by far the best for the money. $10 per person and it included dolphin watch and eco tour of the bay. Most other companies had these separate. We got on the boat and headed out to the bay near the bridge with the net out for about 10 minutes. When they brought up the net, there was a great variety of sea life to show the kids. Sea stars, shrimp, puffer fish, spider crab, sea hare and some others. My daughter thought it was great and the kids were allowed to gently touch some of the creatures. While we were looking at the sea life, the captain was taking us out to open water to find the dolphins. We ended up seeing several pods and it was well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

$44 for a family of 4 - we had an awesome time. It was the highlight of my trip. My 10 and 8 y/o loved seeing the dolphins and a sea animals they caught in their net. I would highly recommend this tour - its the best value.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Tours also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Isla Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.