We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Senor Donkey

Senor Donkey
4215 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
(956) 761-1975
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Harlingen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Other visits to Big Donkey were excellent; however, the tortilla soup we ordered tasted like hot sauce dumped into a can of mixed vegetables. NOT GOOD. No, we did not complain. But they should have told us that they ran out of soup so we could have ordered something they DID have.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    75
    57
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendship
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

First meal on the island and it didn't disappoint. We had tacos and burritos and they were all great. Service was top notch and prices were very reasonable. The Trip Advisor listing gives this restaurant a $$$$ rating for price. Should only be a $ or $$ at most.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horace, North Dakota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food and margaritas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Food was good and drinks were really good! I believe it is now called Senor Donkey. We had fast and friendly service here. Prices are fair too. Will return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awsome shrimp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great service, fair pricing, awesome specials. The shrimp are the same as dirty Al's. The food was hot and fast.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Good food and great service. It has a very inviting atmosphere. Love the happy our prices, too. Great place to go with friends

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senor Donkey also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Senor Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senor Donkey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.