We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the donkey.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senor Donkey

Senor Donkey
4215 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
(956) 761-1975
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Love the donkey.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

On our 4 day stay at SPI we had the big donkey for lunch and everything was very good. It was hard for us to venture away from the donkey. The tortillas were fresh homemaid. On our last day on the island we had breakfast at the donkey and it was great. Very friendly service. Fresh Orange juice ... All out a great place to eat. I give it a A+!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    80
    61
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place was excellent too! The hot sauce, food, drinks, atmosphere--everything! Definitely try this place! Prices were reasonable as well!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This place has no air conditioning, only thing good is the salsa.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Booths are uncomfortable,service is poor - we had to hunt down our waiter to ask for our check! Our food was ok - Taco Bell quality *_* Don't bother with this place, not worth it at all.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I'll go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I ate here with two friends. They had the daily specials (snapper) and I had a taco salad. Everyone was happy! Service was good, quick, friendly, and they didn't care that we were windblown and had sweated all day.

Its a good place to go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS PLACE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The parking lot was always full of cars, so we thought we would try it. First thing we noticed was the terrible condition of the booths and chairs. Rips were very large in the booth seat. No big deal though. We were hungry and looking forward to the food. Well, that turned out to be a HUGE disappointment!!!! The food was the "cheap" kind of tex-mex. In fact, it was such poor quality that we had 3 bites and left hungry (and immediately went to another restaurant). We're from Austin, Texas so we know Tex-Mex food very well. The chips were the grossest thing ever. Cold, too thick, and made out of lord knows what. Service was mediocre at best. Do yourself a favor and stay away. You'd have better tex-mex from the frozen food aisle of HEB.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senor Donkey also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Senor Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senor Donkey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.