We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 19

Pier 19
1 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX
956-761-7437
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a comfortable casual family restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and diner. WE also have a full service bar.
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We are staying at the KOA connected to the pier, for 2 weeks, and have ate a few meals at Pier 19. Love the staff...friendly, warm and tiptop service :()
The different dishes we've tried have all been very good. The best so far is the Banana Foster Pancakes that is one of the Friday morning brekky specials! We love the half-price appetizers every day from 2-5 also. The shrimp ceviche and the fried oysters in a raspberry chipotle sauce is to die for. Haven't had a bad meal or bad service yet!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We thank you for your recent comments and business. We all are thankful and look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please try our other restaurants Pirate's Landing and Sea Ranch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    173
    62
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Company,Good Food and Fun Times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hola!

We have never been to pier 19 before but decided to take the chance after being disappointed by our used to be good Dirty Al's. We were seated promptly and our waitress was a very pleasant and smiling treat. We sat on the right side and our table was big and comfortable wood bench seat booth.

Our drinks came quickly and my Frosted Mug and long neck was a welcomed sight indeed. My wife and daughter went out onto the exterior deck and got a closer view of the dolphins and feeding pelicans while our food was being prepared. I opted to stay inside as all tables offer a close and unobstructed view of the water. The waitress brought me another cold one and the Gals came back in all excited with seeing the dolphins. Our food arrived and it was well served by our smiling waitress.

The food was great. I had the Shrimp stuffed with cream cheese and jalapeno peppers. Wife had the blackened grouper and daughter had the Burger. It was all good and plates were promptly cleaned. Total tab with beers and tea was $41.00. Gotta Love It!!!!

We will be Bach!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We all thank you for your recent visit and comments. We all look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please visit our other restaurants in the future. Pirate's Landing and Sea Ranch. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Restaurant and Palapa Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Palapa bar is open Fri-Sun. It is at the end of the long fishing oeier. We had a great time on a Sunday late afternnon/early evening, Fromt here, we could see Dolphins playing, throwing fish and showing off! The colorful Bartender, Johnny, gave us lots of information and stories about the bay and all of the things he has seen while working there. There weer lots of big Pelicans! They are so entertaining! We had drinks, but they also offer shrimp, oysters, etc. at the Palapa Bar.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We Thank You for your recent visit and post. We all look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please visit our other restaurants Pirate's Landing and Sea Ranch. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The Food is Much Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We came with friends, had last been here a year ago. The food was much improved, and was actually pretty good this trip. Also had very friendly and prompt service as well. Excellent happy hour specials, and happy hour is most of the day. Always great views, and lots of dolphins swimming around.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We Thank You for your comments and business. We take our comments and suggestions seriously. We are always listening to our guests and making adjustments accordingly. We all appreciate and look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Try the cinnamon roll and happy hour 7am to 7pm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It was so good that we ate here twice! All food was outstanding! Happy hour starting at 7am for $3 Mimosos! The cinnamon roll is the size of a cake! You have got to try it!!!! The bisquits are just as good as your mamas! The applewood smoked bacon is the best. Crispy home fries and seafood omelets! Service was outstanding! Ask for Shiela! After all that yummy food go take a walk on their pier and enjoy the view and breeze! You will not be disappointed with this choice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We all thank you for your recent visit and post. We call them "Texas Rolls" and are a house feature. We are becoming famous for them and our happy hour. We look forward to serving you and all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 19 also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pier 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 19, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.