We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 19

Pier 19
1 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX
+1 956-761-7437
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: We are a comfortable casual family restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and diner. WE also have a full service bar.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011 via mobile

Great place for drinks at sunset but food only OK.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We thank you for your comments and business. Thank You and we look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please join us at our other restaurants Pirate's Landing and Sea Ranch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    201
    146
    52
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011 via mobile

The sandwich we had was served hot and on toasted homemade bread... delicious! The salads were crisp and very fresh. We especially like Michael, our server. He and the manager both were very pleasant, attentive and seemed happy we were there. Will definitely go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We thank you for your comments and business. Thank You and we look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please join us at our other restaurants Pirate's Landing and Sea Ranch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flower mound, tx
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pier 19 BEST Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We ate at Pier 19, South Padre Island for the first time. It was delicious. I think it is THE best seafood there. There is a large menu selection with very reasonable prices. We got 4 different entrees and they were all very good. I would strongly recommend Pier 19 if you are in South Padre Island, TX. It is located at the end of the pier with gorgeous sunset views.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We all Thank You for dining at Pier 19 and your comments. We look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please join us at our other restaurants Pirate's Landing and Sea Ranch in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This Place Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We went there twice during a weeklong visit, and love it! We loved the overall setting of this restaurant, right on the pier. We sat in the bar area and the service was very good. We never had to chase down our waitress as the waiters/Managers all watch out for each other’s customers. The place was clean and the food was very good. I tried a variety of shrimp platters and was never disappointed(e.g. Diablo shrimp, Rita Shrimp and Poncho Shrimp). I also had margaritas and salty dogs, and they were always very tasty and didn’t skimp on the booze. They have live entertainment on Friday and Sat nights, and it was nice to stroll along the pier after a big meal. I can’t speak for breakfast or lunch time, but we had a blast at dinner. Out of all the restaurants on the Island, this was one of the top two.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We thank you for your comments and business. Thank You and we look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please join us at our other restaurants Pirate's Landing and Sea Ranch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romeoville
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food- don't fall for the drinks with shakers false advertising.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Fish tacos were actually in the form of a burrito that was cut in half. Please do us a favor do not order their drinks that come advertised in a shaker. We had a margarita and I better ones elsewhere. You do not get the shaker at all. In fact when we inquired about our shaker. They were going to charge us an extra $5 for the shaker. Also be warned about the speed bumps. I won't go back here. Not really impressed.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiislandstylin, Manager at Pier 19, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We thank you for your comments and business. Thank You and we look forward to serving you and all of our guests in the future. Please join us at our other restaurants Pirate's Landing and Sea Ranch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 19 also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pier 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 19, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.