We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yummies Bistro

Yummies Bistro
700 Padre Blvd, Ste J, South Padre Island, TX 78597
(956) 761-2526
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great experience for breakfast. Definitely order the breakfast taco's. They are not only good, but huge! One would probably be enough, but definitely stuff yourself and go for two. Coffee is good. Pancakes are unique but very good as well. We did not go inside, looked small, but sat outside in front by parking lot. Was nice. Definitely not called Yammies - its Yummies!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    110
    32
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best meal I had on my South Padre trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The cafe is casual and cute. The menu has a variety of options, including vegetarian. All of the food was presented beautifally and tasted just as good. We did go for breakfast, so it was busy. The wait wasn't too bad and there are boutiques nearby to shop in. The restaurant was willing to come get us when our table was ready. The wait was a little long, but the staff kept the drinks and coffee filled. It was worth the wait! (which wasn't too bad to be honest)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great service and place to go for brunch or specialty coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I love this place! The staff is so nice, the food is great, and they have a large menu for specialty coffees! They have a great breakfast and lunch menu. The shrimp scampi is fabulous! I also like the breakfast tacos, as well as the mocha! Be sure to ask for the cucumber water...YUM!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummies is Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Not sure why it's called Yammies on here, cuz it's Yummies. This place was AMAZING. Next time we will eat here several times- so many things to try! We both ate from the Shrimp menu and it was magnificent. Some people were mad about the wait, which is silly. Sometimes you have to wait for good things. Definitely go here!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Went due to the number one ranking. Advise getting there before 9am or there is a wait. Charming and clean, with attentive staff. Lots of choices on the breakfast menu. I had the Bistro Breakfast Sandwich; the jalapeño bread made it a standout on the menu. Very good, not spicy, fresh spinach and the tomato was flavorful. The fresh fruit side was delicious, obviously freshly sliced. I also had the Coconut Zesta coffee...outstanding! My hubby had the Eggs Benedict and they were just so-so; the hollandaise sauce was bland and the English muffin wasn't very toasted. The side potatoes were lukewarm when served. Presentation was great for both food items. I'm still giving Yummies 4 stars because of the overall experience. Friendly and helpful staff, nice location and a menu that had more selection then your typical breakfast entrees. Cute t-shirts and delicious pies too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yummies Bistro also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Yummies Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yummies Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.