We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummie's is Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yummies Bistro

Yummies Bistro
700 Padre Blvd, Ste J, South Padre Island, TX 78597
+1 956-761-2526
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Jacksonville TX
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Yummie's is Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Only open for breakfast and lunch, they close at 2 so get there early. We arrived around 11 and they were very busy. We were seated right away. I ordered the quiche and soup of the day, both were very good; portion was a little small but that's ok, I wanted a lighter lunch. My husband had gulf shore grits and they must have been good, because he didn't offer me a bite! Service was just ok; however we noticed how much they loved their regulars. We were seated by the door and saw several groups greeted with hugs, etc. A little pricey, but I would give it another shot if ever on the island again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    123
    36
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Super nice staff. Super delicious food! Huevos Colima was a nice surprise, eggs, chorizo, and corn chips. Haha. You laugh but it was great. Add fresh cilantro, jalapeno corn bread, and their fresh pico to make it the best breakfast you've ever had. Seriously.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yummie's breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Based on TripAdvisor's recommendation, we went to Yummie's. The sign on the building says Yummie's Bistro. There are a few front patio seats if you'd like to sit there, or go inside for some views of local artwork that is for sale. I liked that touch. I was delighted to have their special that day, which offered barbacoa, tortillas, eggs and potatoes. My coffee was wonderful. My husband enjoyed his meal, and I felt the prices were reasonable. I couldn't finish everything on my plate. And the OJ! It came in a bottle, but tasted like heaven. I will go back if I'm ever on the Island again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yummies is Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Whenever we are in S. Padre Isl. we always enjoy breakfast or lunch at Yummies. They are open from 8 AM to 2 PM every day except Tuesday. They serve tea in steeping pots and their food is either Mexican or American but always fresh and good. They have expanded their foot print in the last year due to their overflowing business. The service is commendable too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We went based on the reviews and we were pretty disappointed. Although the staff was friendly, the coffee was terrible! She messed up our order, and the coffee tasted like aspartame with fake flavor and poor quality- not recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yummies Bistro also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Yummies Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yummies Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.