We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy and tasty food, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yummies Bistro

Yummies Bistro
700 Padre Blvd, Ste J, South Padre Island, TX 78597
+1 956-761-2526
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: American, Noodle, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
El Paso
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Healthy and tasty food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Ate several lunches and 1 breakfast there over 1 month. Always great soup of the day with 1/2 sandwich. Interesting combinations. Wonderful pies made by wife of owner couple, esp the coconut. You can buy the great chicken and tuna salad by the pint to take back to your condo. Only minus is that there is no to-go or online menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    145
    46
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Most popular spot on the Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We've been on SPI for 4 weeks now, and every time we pass Yummies during opening hours (8am - 2pm) it's been very busy. The first time we ate there was on a Sunday, when it was packed. Had the Eggs Benedict, which I thought was a bit over-priced and over-hyped for what is was. However, went back today (Wednesday) when it was a little less busy, and had a very good experience. Wait staff were friendlier and more attentive, the Cinnamon Coffee was great, as was the Rancheros Santa Cruz (shrimp, egg & bacon). My wife had the Taco plate, which was also good and filling. Atmosphere was enhanced by Hotel California playing on the sound system, and a beautiful sunny morning on the Island!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our lunch at Yummie's today. The burgers were great. The salads and sandwiches we saw delivered to other tables looked delicious. The unexpected star of the meal was a piece of grapefruit pie that we shared for dessert. It was wonderful! Great little bistro. Friendly, smiling wait staff and happy customers. We will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is WONDERFUL!!!! They are only open until 2PM, so there in time to get a table. VERY popular & you will know why. The owners could not be more friendly & the food is EXCEPTIONAL!Grilled vegetable & shrimp panini is a dream come true! Chicken slad famous on the island & the homemade pies are unreal!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Grits on steroids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

While Yummie's (believe me, it is not a Shack!) has lots of tempting breakfast choices, I'm addicted to their Gulf Coast Grits. If your first experience with grits is here, I doubt seriously you will ever be satisfied with the blah kind that most places in the South serve.
While Yummie's also serves lunch, we've only ever come here for breakfast.
The Rancheros Santa Cruze is also worthy of mention; a skillet of ham, shrimp, potatoes, peppers topped with two over easy eggs and a couple strips of very good bacon.
One secret was revealed to us on a previous visit (this was our third time here since February 1st): Yummie's will serve lunch or breakfast any time they're open (8:00 a.m - 2:00 p.m.)
One thing we haven't tried is the Grapefruit pie. Maybe next time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yummies Bistro also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Yummies Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yummies Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.