We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun for the whole family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Lessons

Sandcastle Lessons
2612 Gulf Bvld, South Padre Island, TX
+1 956-433-9948
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are pleased to be the premier sandcastle lesson company in the USA and operate from Boomerang Billy's on South Padre Island. Our aim is to make your vacation one to remember, and we supply everything - you just bring your smile. We recommend that you secure your booking before your visit by e-mail, phone or text(please include your name if texting). Instructor Andy Hancock will be pleased to help you build the castles of your dreams using 3 simple steps and no previous experience or creative ability is necessary. Our job is to make sure that in one lesson you have all the skills you will need for a lifetime of building on the beach. We don't watch the clock as we are too busy watching our clients have fun.We even include tools for the truly inspired! - See you on the best beach in Texas!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

like the other reviewers, really enjoyed sand castle lessons with Andy. we had a group of 10 with both kids and adult. all enjoyed. recommend taking the lesson, earlier in your stay to have more time to enjoy your new skills.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We didn't want to stop!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I were on the island for a wedding, so we had limited down-time. We had to pick one activity to do, and we are SO glad we picked Andy's lesson! He was hilarious, super talented, and so helpful. We had such a good time building the castles that we didn't want to stop and go to a wedding. We are already planning another castle date soon! Andy really couldn't be any cooler!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Missouri, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Andy is great ( even if he is a Man City supporter). He was wonderful with our group of 9 people ages ranging from 2 to 12 and 2 adults. Not only was the lesson about sandcastle building, we even had a little history and science thrown in and in a way the kids loved. The lesson starts with a demonstration of how to start to build a sandcastle and then how to use the tools to produce differing techniques. Then its up to you , you can build whatever you want and as many things as you want in your time frame, for our group size I am glad we choose the 2 hours as it flew by as if it was 10 minutes. It was a very hot day and there was free water and a shower nearby to keep cool, even then a couple of the kids got too hot, no problem they just went sat in the shade and came back when they were ready. Andy even took time to make a Pikachu face for my son!!
Hopefully we will be back in South Padre next summer and if we are my family will definitely be visiting Andy again.

If you are planning a trip to South Padre and looking for activities to do this would be first on my list every time, highly highly recommended.

Thanks again Andy!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best part of our July 4th trip to SPI!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My 6 and 4 year olds loved their 2 hours with Andy. Never got bored and are still talking about it. My kids now prefer building sandcastles instead of playing in the water. Originally I was going to take the time and relax a bit with the wife while Andy kept the kids occupied. However, they were having so much fun I had to jump in. Great teacher, learned a lot and we were able to implement the skills quickly. We will do lessons again on next visit to SPI. Thanks for skills and memories.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great sandcastles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Andy is great! We learned a lot of sandcastle building skills. This is our favorite part of our trip to South Padre Island! We will definitely visit Andy next summer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandcastle Lessons also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sandcastle Lessons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Lessons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.