We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun and great memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Lessons

Sandcastle Lessons
2612 Gulf Bvld, Beach Access 7, South Padre Island, TX 78597
+1 956-433-9948
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are pleased to be the premier sandcastle lesson company in the USA and operate from Boomerang Billy's on South Padre Island. Our aim is to make your vacation one to remember, and we supply everything - you just bring your smile. We recommend that you secure your booking before your visit by e-mail, phone or text(please include your name if texting). Instructor Andy Hancock will be pleased to help you build the castles of your dreams using 3 simple steps and no previous experience or creative ability is necessary. Our job is to make sure that in one lesson you have all the skills you will need for a lifetime of building on the beach. We don't watch the clock as we are too busy watching our clients have fun.We even include tools for the truly inspired! - See you on the best beach in Texas!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Falmouth, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great fun and great memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent two hours with Andy and had a blast! It's amazing how three non-artistic types could be taught to create really cool sand sculpture and have a great time as well. My 15 year old said that this was the best thing we did on the island. Thanks Andy! PS. We went on a cold, windy day and it was very possible to build sand castles even in those conditions because of the sheltered location of the lessons.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Genuine Padre Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Andy Hancock treated our whole group to more than just a lesson. His humor, kindness, and friendliness is a memorable experience. If you want a genuine Padre experience come to this guy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Both Fun and Funny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Andy Hancock is not only a master at building sandcastles but he's a great person as well! There was never a dull moment with him. From the time we set foot on the sand, we never stopped laughing. I also walked away knowing some killer sandcastle tricks. This is one thing that you have to do whether you're visiting the island for the first time or you're a long time resident.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Laugh-out-loud fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

"Sandcastle making" doesn't do justice to the experience Andy lays on for you when you visit him on the beach. From the moment we met him, Andy put us at ease and was joking along with all of us.

Today was my birthday and Andy guided my wife, two small kids (6 & 4) and me through creating crazy sand sculptures. He showed us some basic technique, then let us get on with it, guiding and helping whenever it got tricky. Don't worry if you're not very creative, as Andy will ensure your castle (or sculpture) looks amazing at the end and, more to the point, you will have an absolute blast along the way.

Andy engaged with our two kids in a completely different ways, suited to their ages and abilities. "Good for all ages" is a bit of a tired cliche - but this really was. Our little one enjoyed a "reductive approach" - tearing down anything he was set on - and Andy talked and worked with him a lot to make sure that was fun and creative too. I don't know where he finds all the energy.

A number of people passing by just had to stop and take in what we were doing - and struck up conversation. Which all added to the sense of fun.

The location is great too - right next to Boomerang Billy's providing cool mental lubrication for your creations.

This is the first review I have posted on TripAdvisor. The experience was so excellent and such a hoot, I just had to put something up.

It was incredible. We laughed, we concentrated, we created, we compared, we drank some ice cold beer - and then we laughed some more.

Not only was this out-and-above the best thing we did in South Padre Island, it was one of the absolute top highlights of our whole 2 weeks in Texas. It was the best birthday I can remember.

If you are in the area, do yourself a big favour and come along. If you're even a bit skeptical, come any way. Andy will ensure you have a fantastic time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must have experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I thought only book lesson for my kids, end up my husband and I had fun time, too. Andy, as others described, kept five of us entertained, it is hard to find an activities make all of us from mid age, through teen, to young kids, happy. Thank you, Andy and keep the legend going!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandcastle Lessons also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sandcastle Lessons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Lessons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.