We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WindWater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added WindWater Hotel to your Saves list
WindWater Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Waurika, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

its a great place to stay, i took my famliy here and we loved it had a great veiw of the canal the help was friendly and very helpful rooms were nice they kepted them very clean, the pool area is nice and clean, gland we stayed here

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    17
    20
    59
See reviews for
48
45
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Economy hotel with continental breakfeast weekends only.

This hotel has told me twice breakfeast available. The first time hours were when they get up after 8 AM. 2nd time yes and then no breakfeast.

Their policies change hourly. My advice is choose another hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very rude blond girl in front. Outdated. Ugly restrooms. Left in less than an hour. Lost 40.00 but at least i went to a clean hotel. Dirty. Photos could be decieving. Asked to be mobed to another room. Front desk refused.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I know the price is enticing but really it's not worth it. Like a lot of people I don't take reviews too seriously as typically everyone has their own viewpoint. I am by no means a picky person. When I go to a hotel all I ask for is a clean room. Nothing more. Thos place Is horrid. When we showed up the room was dirty the sheets have a nice grey tint to them that's NOT supposed to be there. The towels do too. There were dead flies on the ground. The air conditioner didn't work. The pictures on the wall had mold growing inside the glass. The box spring had what appeared to be a puke stain running down the side. Holes in the sheets and blankets. And the tub looked like someone tried to spit down the grain but missed and just left a big puddle of snot. That was the first room. So we asked for another. The guy working behind the counter seemed irritated when we asked for another but he did move us. The next room was "better". Still dead flies on the ground and moldy pictures. Holy sheets and blankets. Though it was much cleaner overall, it still had its issues. The bathroom sink looked like it had splatter from someone's vomit. Nothing a little Clorox wipe can't fix. The rooms are outdated. Not old fashioned outdated but worn down. Kinda surprised they dont rent by the hour if you know what I mean. My overall opinion. Not worth the stay. I booked through Expedia at the last minute. Don't do it. Spend a little extra and get a room that's worth the money. I will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnet, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and i was worried after reading reviews... but i was pleasantly surprised. We had a 3 bedroom suite, that had been recently updated. The pet policy was the best i could find and i called around. The free breakfast was not anything spectacular but for the price you cant expect fresh scrambled eggs and bacon at this price. The view of the channel from the private balcony was nice an.d you can fish right behind the hotel. The beach was an easy walk and was absolutely magnificent. We found no roaches and everything had been cleaned when we arrived. So im not sure what other people were talking about. But we had a delightful stay.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom condo was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is not the Taj Mahal, but it is a great value for what you pay. Our king suite was on the bay, and it was a very pleasent expierience. Clean, good air, adequate space for the kids, everything I would expect for what we paid. I see a lot of comments here about roaches, but we did not see one in the five days we were there.

Room Tip: Spend he little extra money it takes to book a suite by the bay unstead of just a regular room. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was the worst hotel stay ever. There were roaches everywhere. As I entered the bathroom to use it, I found a used condom on the floor. We went to the main checkin/checkout office and no one was there. I left the key on the front desk. I would never stay there ever, ever again. People were drug dealing outside the hotel too. We left immediatley...

Room Tip: Don't ever use this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Limited South Padre Island
Ramada Limited South Padre Islan...
#13 of 33 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge South Padre Island
Travelodge South Padre Island
#12 of 33 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beachside Inn
Beachside Inn
#22 of 33 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#20 of 33 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
2.3 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#16 of 33 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 33 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WindWater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WindWater Hotel

Address: 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — WindWater Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WindWater Hotel offers moderately priced, family and student friendly hotel accommodations in the heart of South Padre Island, Texas. With spacious and comfortable hotel rooms, king suites and condos facing the bay-side marina, and a variety of fabulous hotel features and lodging extras. WindWater Hotel offers the perfect accommodations for family vacations and spring break trips in South Padre Island. Guests can also enjoy playing a round of golf at local golf courses, hiking or biking along local trails, or fishing off the bay-side marina. Amenities include spacious suites with private balconies, an outdoor pool, free wireless internet, business center, and a limited amount of fishing equipment for guests to use. Situated on the bayside marina and 2 blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel, offers convenience to local attractions including; Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (tickets sold at frontdesk) South Padre Island Convention Center Isla Blanca Park Horseback Riding Snorkeling Scuba Diving Dolphin Watch Tours Lighthouse Square Sea Turtle Inc. Mexico South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center Gladys Porter Zoo Island Equestrian Center Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge Laguna Madre Nature Trail Historic Brownsville ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your WindWater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Water Hotel And Resort
Wind Water Hotel South Padre Island
Microtel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Best Western
Best Western South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WindWater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.