We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wind Water Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wind Water Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Wind Water Hotel & Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Weslaco, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Eh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Overall the place was okay. First room I got the plugs for the fridge and microwave didn't work. Went down complained and they upgraded me to a suite!!! Really big spacious suite! There was two bed rooms three beds two pullout sofas a full kitchen! Was great

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    16
    17
    49
See reviews for
40
40
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercedes, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

let me start by saying choices were limited on the island for Fathers Day....this was available and cheap but there was a reason for that.....the place is ok but it is what it is.....not very nice and they let folks party in the parking lot with loud music and plenty of partying....and when i say they let them party...they were loud....

the room is dirty and very outdated...

not a place we are ever going back to....and if you look at some of my reviews I am usually very positive about places

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

after paying 142.00 and the front clerk being upset about it like if it was coming off of her pay; the hotel was awful. There is a roach infestation microwave didn't work, pool was dirty, and so called hot tub was cold besides the 2 yr old in a diaper swimming there was nothing hot about it...front desk clerks were rude and all in all messed up my weekend from the horrible smell in room. and no room service AT ALL!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have been coming down to SPI for portions of 11 winters, starting with a couple of weeks and now for several months. We have stayed at the Wind Water for 10. We love being on the boat channel and near the Birding Center and the dunes. The current owners have made some great improvements this season including new tile floors, new countertops and new tile bathrooms. The hot tub and internet connections are good and yesterday they added new machines in the laundry room and a new waffle machine in the breakfast room. I'm not sure what those whiners are writing about, but it doesn't match our experience with the staff and facilities. We think it is a good vacation value. The beaches and dunes are the cleanest we've seen since we started coming down here to avoid some of our Montana winters.

Room Tip: west side rooms on the boat channel have patios that are situated to protect from north and south wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on 1/26/13 and rented 2 rooms 113 and 114.There were people in the swimming pool making noise up until 430 in the morning and aside from getting no sleep as i was checking out in the morning there was no one at the front desk so i started to whistle so i could get someones attention thats when i believe her name dora comes in and very rudely says "im not a dog,you dont need to be whistling you can say hello" as i expressed my opinion on the noise from last night she said "oh well you are more then welcome to call the police" i asked what the pool hours were and she said theres was no hours just as long as there was no noise being made.All in all a horrible experience all way around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My son and I checked in thought the first night was ok but on the second night the roaches came out horribly so they moved us upstairs and the second room had roaches so when i asked what our chances were of a third room being roach free the desk said "mam I dont know what to tell you" I told them we were checking out and we did at midnight in our pj's. So unless you don't mind sleeping with the creatures don't go here

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Do not stay at Wind Water! We found a good deal for this place on Expedia and decided to book a room. Bad idea! The receptionist at the front desk was rude and they had what appeared to be a porno (multiple nude scenes on rated R movie) playing on the lobby TV. Luckily we don't have children but it was extremely inappropriate. When we walked into the room the odor was awful! We went to check out the rest of the room, walked into the bathroom and there was a HUGE roach on our bathroom towel! We had seen enough and went to find another hotel to stay at. We spoke to the front office receptionist and she informed us that she could not give us a refund since we booked through Expedia. We had to speak to Expedia and unfortunately were not able to get a full refund. Also, when we went in to tell the receptionist that there was a roach in the room and that it was dirty, she proceeded to call her head housekeeper to check on the room. She was on the phone with her and of course said that the room was perfectly fine. Why would we lie?!?!?!? If you are looking for a nice place to stay while visiting the island, do not stay at WindWater! Save your money, and your time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wind Water Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind Water Hotel & Resort

Address: 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wind Water Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the bayside and 2 blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel & Resort, an Independent Magnuson Hotel, offers convenience to local attractions including the South Padre Island Convention Center, Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center, Gladys Porter Zoo, Island Equestrian Center, Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge, Laguna Madre Nature Trail, Matamoros, Mexico, Historic Brownsville, and the Lighthouse at Port Isabel. Guests can also enjoy playing a round of golf at local golf courses, hiking or biking along local trails, or fishing off the walkway that runs along the hotel. Amenities include spacious suites with private balconies, an outdoor pool, free wireless internet, business center, and a limited amount of fishing equipment for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wind Water Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Water Hotel And Resort
Wind Water Hotel South Padre Island
Microtel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Best Western
Best Western South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wind Water Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.