We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wind Water Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wind Water Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Wind Water Hotel & Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Run away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My son and I checked in thought the first night was ok but on the second night the roaches came out horribly so they moved us upstairs and the second room had roaches so when i asked what our chances were of a third room being roach free the desk said "mam I dont know what to tell you" I told them we were checking out and we did at midnight in our pj's. So unless you don't mind sleeping with the creatures don't go here

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    16
    17
    48
See reviews for
39
40
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Do not stay at Wind Water! We found a good deal for this place on Expedia and decided to book a room. Bad idea! The receptionist at the front desk was rude and they had what appeared to be a porno (multiple nude scenes on rated R movie) playing on the lobby TV. Luckily we don't have children but it was extremely inappropriate. When we walked into the room the odor was awful! We went to check out the rest of the room, walked into the bathroom and there was a HUGE roach on our bathroom towel! We had seen enough and went to find another hotel to stay at. We spoke to the front office receptionist and she informed us that she could not give us a refund since we booked through Expedia. We had to speak to Expedia and unfortunately were not able to get a full refund. Also, when we went in to tell the receptionist that there was a roach in the room and that it was dirty, she proceeded to call her head housekeeper to check on the room. She was on the phone with her and of course said that the room was perfectly fine. Why would we lie?!?!?!? If you are looking for a nice place to stay while visiting the island, do not stay at WindWater! Save your money, and your time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The staff at the Wind Water is very courteous and professional and very willing to accomodate your needs as a traveler. My wife and I were very pleased at the friendliness of Jay and Kirsten at the front desk. They were very prompt in answering my calls and returning them within a reasonable amount of time prior to my travels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The pictures on Expedia's website and the actual place are hardly synonymous. The queen-sized beds are NOT queen-sized. In order to get fresh towels, you have to physically go down to the front desk and bring your used towels and trade them for fresh ones. And the ones that were (considered) fresh, were not white - more like a dingy white. One of my traveling companions went to use their computer and it was merely a small laptop. Uh, OK. But she was also advised that she could utilize the keyboard to the laptop and would have to use a keyboard underneath instead - and there were keys that were either missing or not working. Another traveling companion wanted to wash her hair and requested some shampoo. The clerk's response was, "Well we don't have any shampoo but we have plenty of toothpaste." What does brushing your teeth have to do with washing your hair? I know both are grooming habits and while necessary, they aren't one and the same. You also had to hold the handle down while flushing the toilet. And let me not forget to mention that the microwave had a live roach on the inside of the door. Please BYPASS this place whether you're driving or web-surfing for a place to stay while visiting South Padre Island. Please and thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The rooms could stand to be updated. Our fridge didn't work and 30 min after reporting it, it got replaced. For the price of $37 a night during the week it's a good value, not fancy but appeared clean. The breakfast was pretty bad so plan on eating a taco at Stripes or at a restaurant.

Room Tip: Don't get by the pool on weekends it will be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Do not pay a dollar or even look at the place when you drive by. Will post pictures later. This was the filthiest place I have ever stayed at. There were stains all over the comforters, dirt and food all over the floor, poopie on the toilet, hair stuck on the shower, and floor, mold al over the ceiling, etc, etc.I will post photos later. Very, very filthy. Please do not stay here, it is a health hazard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I'm actually here as I write this and no, it's not the absolute best hotel on the island I'm sure but for $90 plus tax for two weekend nights, I can live with it. Yes, it could use some updating but it's fairly clean, other than wear and tear from what I would assume to be age. The girl at the front desk has been very friendly and accommodating so far. My only complaints are, the AC really doesn't work that well and we have had issues with the toilet not flushing but if you need a place to sleep, on a budget, it's definitely doable. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wind Water Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind Water Hotel & Resort

Address: 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wind Water Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the bayside and 2 blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel & Resort, an Independent Magnuson Hotel, offers convenience to local attractions including the South Padre Island Convention Center, Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center, Gladys Porter Zoo, Island Equestrian Center, Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge, Laguna Madre Nature Trail, Matamoros, Mexico, Historic Brownsville, and the Lighthouse at Port Isabel. Guests can also enjoy playing a round of golf at local golf courses, hiking or biking along local trails, or fishing off the walkway that runs along the hotel. Amenities include spacious suites with private balconies, an outdoor pool, free wireless internet, business center, and a limited amount of fishing equipment for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wind Water Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Water Hotel And Resort
Wind Water Hotel South Padre Island
Microtel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Best Western
Best Western South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wind Water Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.