We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of WindWater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added WindWater Hotel to your Saves list
WindWater Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Run!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

When I drove up to this place I tried to stay positive. But when I heard my mother gasp I knew it wasn't good. I walked in and basically it was 2 beds, a tv and not much else, well not much else worth looking at. Upon further inspection, the area around the elevator was nasty, dirty. Then after bringing in our luggage, I looked closer at the room and was afraid to even sit on the bed, much less look underneath the sheets. Well, needless to say we had reserved the room for 2 nights. I was not letting my family stay there not even 1 night. We got the heck out of there and cancelled the next night. We didn't get the money for that night, but I didn't care. We ended up going to Brownsville instead at another much cleaner hotel. Don't stay at this hotel. You can tell they don't clean this place at all. My brother had a room here also for 2 nights and had to stay 1 night, because it would have cost to much for him to cancel his 1 night. But did cancel the following night. He said that the sheets did look like they hadn't been changed. Ewwwww!!!!.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    16
    17
    56
See reviews for
44
41
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stay away, for starters i thought i rented what was a two bedroom suite but it turned out to be a two bed hotel, fine my mistake i asked if i could cancel my reservations and was told no very rudly by the front desk clerk. Ok still fine thats cool, i understand. So upon further examination i noticed sand on the covers, i called the front desk and told them to come and reclean the room they said ok and i left when i came back they had only changed the covers (i could tell by the used q-tip that was still on the floor since before we left was still there). Besides that every time we left the room we had to take the keys ti the front desk because they wouldnt work, and the broken lock didnt exactly make me feel secure... bottom line im never goin to stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mission
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed recently at the Wind Water Hotel at SPI. I am local so I have stayed in many places at SPI before. This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The "suite" was the wost place ever. There were roaches everywhere and the carpet was super dirty. Mosquitos and flies were everywhere and we were unable to sleep. The towels were dirty and I called the front counter. The lady calmly said that the towels were clean but that they would look dirty because they couldnt be bleached anymore. To to it off they was a huge spider in the restroom. I was just praying that the night could end soon. Nightmare of a hotel!

Room Tip: Go anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Roaches in our room, housekeeping unplugged our refrigerator while we were at Schlitterbahn, killed our sons insulin costing us another $100. No coffee makers in rooms and breakfast must be eaten in a room big enough for 15 with 61 rooms of guests!? Pictures can be deceiving.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I booked this room because I thought the price wasn't so high, but for the price I paid, an outhouse would have been better than this. The check in lady was really friendly though, so I don't want to bash her. However, who ever the owners of this place are should be ashamed! It didn't look like these rooms had been updated since the 80's and probably not cleaned since then either. There were dead bugs on the floor, and not little ones, huge bugs!!! The bathroom was gross, and it smelled so bad! The remotes didn't work for the TV's and the parking lot was so small. I went with my grandparents and they didn't have a room with two beds so we got a "suite" (if you can even call it that) with a king bed and a pull out sofa. I pulled out the sofa bed and thought it was gonna crumble right there on the floor. Needless to say I hardly slept all night for fear of bed bugs and couch collapse. DO NOT STAY HERE! Gross, gross, gross. Spend the money and get something decent. The only thing good about this place was the short walk to the beach, then again its not a very wide island is it?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We spent a night here over the weekend and were horribly disappointed. We walked into the room and were immediately met with a musky odor. The floors were disgusting and the room looked nothing like the pictures. We shrugged it off and figured we could handle it for one night. Then I walked into the bathroom. The walls had mildew all over them and when I lifted up the toilet seat there was a mass of pubic hair floating in the water. The sink hadn't been cleaned and the corners of the floor were literally black and had obviously not been cleaned in quite awhile. The bathroom was so foul my three year old walked in and declared "This room is gross, I want to go home!". Besides the general funk of the room, there was no coffee maker, the TV remote did not work and the AC was barely working. We had a limited time at the beach and didn't want to mess with finding another hotel; which is the only reason we stayed the night there. The pool was okay but there were glass bottles everywhere and cigarettes littered all over the outside of the pool. In the evening we were unfortunately not too surprised to see two cop cars in the parking lot (some of the other guests looked a little shady).You could not PAY me to ever set foot in this disgusting place again. Yes, the price is cheap, but in this case you truly get what you pay for!!! Do not stay here if you want a comfortable room.

Room Tip: If you want a good room go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Initial check in after unloading all our belongings, the door wouldn't open with our card. The receptionist issued another room, the lock on the door was broken and the floors were all sandy on check-in. The toilet would barely flush, there was no vent or A.C in the bathroom, no coffee pot for complimentary cup of coffee. Not happy. Have stayed at other hotels since this stay for the same price and was very happy at them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WindWater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WindWater Hotel

Address: 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — WindWater Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WindWater Hotel offers moderately priced, family and student friendly hotel accommodations in the heart of South Padre Island, Texas. With spacious and comfortable hotel rooms, king suites and condos facing the bay-side marina, and a variety of fabulous hotel features and lodging extras. WindWater Hotel offers the perfect accommodations for family vacations and spring break trips in South Padre Island. Guests can also enjoy playing a round of golf at local golf courses, hiking or biking along local trails, or fishing off the bay-side marina. Amenities include spacious suites with private balconies, an outdoor pool, free wireless internet, business center, and a limited amount of fishing equipment for guests to use. Situated on the bayside marina and 2 blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel, offers convenience to local attractions including; Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark (tickets sold at frontdesk) South Padre Island Convention Center Isla Blanca Park Horseback Riding Snorkeling Scuba Diving Dolphin Watch Tours Lighthouse Square Sea Turtle Inc. Mexico South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center Gladys Porter Zoo Island Equestrian Center Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge Laguna Madre Nature Trail Historic Brownsville ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your WindWater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Water Hotel And Resort
Wind Water Hotel South Padre Island
Microtel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Best Western
Best Western South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WindWater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.