We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately NOT a Resort.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wind Water Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Wind Water Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wind Water Hotel & Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
2 reviews
“Definately NOT a Resort.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Roaches in our room, housekeeping unplugged our refrigerator while we were at Schlitterbahn, killed our sons insulin costing us another $100. No coffee makers in rooms and breakfast must be eaten in a room big enough for 15 with 61 rooms of guests!? Pictures can be deceiving.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    16
    17
    47
See reviews for
39
39
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I booked this room because I thought the price wasn't so high, but for the price I paid, an outhouse would have been better than this. The check in lady was really friendly though, so I don't want to bash her. However, who ever the owners of this place are should be ashamed! It didn't look like these rooms had been updated since the 80's and probably not cleaned since then either. There were dead bugs on the floor, and not little ones, huge bugs!!! The bathroom was gross, and it smelled so bad! The remotes didn't work for the TV's and the parking lot was so small. I went with my grandparents and they didn't have a room with two beds so we got a "suite" (if you can even call it that) with a king bed and a pull out sofa. I pulled out the sofa bed and thought it was gonna crumble right there on the floor. Needless to say I hardly slept all night for fear of bed bugs and couch collapse. DO NOT STAY HERE! Gross, gross, gross. Spend the money and get something decent. The only thing good about this place was the short walk to the beach, then again its not a very wide island is it?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We spent a night here over the weekend and were horribly disappointed. We walked into the room and were immediately met with a musky odor. The floors were disgusting and the room looked nothing like the pictures. We shrugged it off and figured we could handle it for one night. Then I walked into the bathroom. The walls had mildew all over them and when I lifted up the toilet seat there was a mass of pubic hair floating in the water. The sink hadn't been cleaned and the corners of the floor were literally black and had obviously not been cleaned in quite awhile. The bathroom was so foul my three year old walked in and declared "This room is gross, I want to go home!". Besides the general funk of the room, there was no coffee maker, the TV remote did not work and the AC was barely working. We had a limited time at the beach and didn't want to mess with finding another hotel; which is the only reason we stayed the night there. The pool was okay but there were glass bottles everywhere and cigarettes littered all over the outside of the pool. In the evening we were unfortunately not too surprised to see two cop cars in the parking lot (some of the other guests looked a little shady).You could not PAY me to ever set foot in this disgusting place again. Yes, the price is cheap, but in this case you truly get what you pay for!!! Do not stay here if you want a comfortable room.

Room Tip: If you want a good room go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Initial check in after unloading all our belongings, the door wouldn't open with our card. The receptionist issued another room, the lock on the door was broken and the floors were all sandy on check-in. The toilet would barely flush, there was no vent or A.C in the bathroom, no coffee pot for complimentary cup of coffee. Not happy. Have stayed at other hotels since this stay for the same price and was very happy at them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Pyrmont, Germany
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The price for the accomodation was excellent, particularly as it was getting close to spring break and the other hotels had already increased their rates. The room was good size and fairly clean and the location is great. The free Island Shuttle Bus takes you anywhere. It's only a short stroll to the beach and the lagoon.
However, when we came back around 10 pm we had a big cockroach in the room. The night manager came immediately when we called and killed it. A little while later we had a smaller roach on the ceiling. Again the manager came straight away and this time he offered us another room which we gladly accepted. We stayed in that hotel when it was still a Best Western and had experienced the same thing. The next morning we were offered a refund without even asking for it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The good - we needed a pet friendly place at South Padre and got the room for an incredible price. The setting of the back rooms faced an inlet from the bay and was very pleasant. Most guests are quiet retirees. The bad - one night there were some noisy people above us and you could hear them clearly, so soundprooofing isn't very good. This is an older motel and it is beat up. Lock on sliding door was about to come off. Bathroom & bedding was clean but carpeting is marginal, with stains. Drapes had spots as well, and wifi was spotty. Breakfast is just carbos with no eggs or sausage or even the waffle maker. But, and this is a big but, it was cheap, and the setting was nice.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a "suite" facing the inlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were on South Padre Island for one night in February (off season) and it was perfect for us. The room was very inexpensive and was clean and convenient. We were hoping to find a place with an outdoor hot tub and continental breakfast and this fit the bill. Some of the outside area could use a little freshening and updating but overall it was a good value and positive experience.

Room Tip: Since we wanted to use the pool area our first floor room steps away from the pool was ideal. All of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wind Water Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind Water Hotel & Resort

Address: 5701 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wind Water Hotel & Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the bayside and 2 blocks from the beach, the WindWater Hotel & Resort, an Independent Magnuson Hotel, offers convenience to local attractions including the South Padre Island Convention Center, Schlitterbahn Beach Waterpark, South Padre Island Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center, Gladys Porter Zoo, Island Equestrian Center, Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge, Laguna Madre Nature Trail, Matamoros, Mexico, Historic Brownsville, and the Lighthouse at Port Isabel. Guests can also enjoy playing a round of golf at local golf courses, hiking or biking along local trails, or fishing off the walkway that runs along the hotel. Amenities include spacious suites with private balconies, an outdoor pool, free wireless internet, business center, and a limited amount of fishing equipment for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Wind Water Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Water Hotel South Padre Island
Wind Water Hotel And Resort
Microtel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Best Western
Best Western South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wind Water Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.