We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, adequate room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3913 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly South Padre Island Days Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Prosper, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor service, adequate room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Now we knew we were staying at a motel since we wanted to save money for a later trip we have planned. With that said, we were happy to have a mini fridge and microwave. The top shelf of the fridge wasn't working very well so I had to constantly move our food around to make sure it didn't spoil. The bed was fine for me but my husband found it uncomfortable. The remote was barely hanging on a thread.

As far as cleanliness, the first day when we got back from the beach they had cleaned the room only to find the same dead bug from the night before still there. The following day, nobody cleaned our room. We didn't care to much but on the third day, we really wanted our room cleaned since we had been to the beach everyday and sand was accumulating everywhere. When we came back from the beach, nobody had cleaned it yet. I peaked and noticed the cleaning cart was further down and would probably get to the room eventually. We each managed to take a shower and get ready for our day and still nobody had showed up. My husband opened the door and noticed that the cleaning cart was gone. We proceeded to call the office to ask for housekeeping. We called about 10 times with no answer. I decided to call from my cell phone through their regular line and they picked up right away. The lady said someone would be there shortly. We decided to sit by the pool to let them clean. We probably were there for about an hour before someone showed up to clean our room.

Also, if you value sleep, don't get room 116 or the surrounding rooms. It is literally right in front of the pool and it was pretty loud since there were a lot of kids there.

Pros: free wifi

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    18
    18
    39
See reviews for
37
31
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Nice clean room, not the newest but was good enough for our weekend trip and after a long day its an easy walk to a few restaurants.

Con: Bathroom switch has a weird click thing but it didn't hinder our usage.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

SUPER CLEAN AND CHEAP! Its a great place for vacation and walking distance to the beach!!!! Front desk was very friendly. housekeeping was very helpful. and they changed sheets regularly. Pool was good size for small children!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Luckily I had a VERY good price or I would not even be able to give 2 stars. The office attendant was ok. He had no maps, not much knowledge of Island things to do. Lots of swim suits and towels hanging on rail outside lobby. As for the room. NO PHONE which seemed like a safety issue, no clock, stains on sheets, worn out shower. We passed on what they call breakfast and opted for Teds restaurant...see reviews. Now for the good things, we only needed a place to sleep and shower as we were there for outdoor activities and both the beds and shower worked for us.The room also had a fridge and microwave. Unlike what many reviews said, the ice machine worked. With what we saved we played!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Man terrible what a terrible stay ice machine down electric outlet inop. Bathroom vent rattled. Man at ft desk junk unconcerned. Stay away at all costs room smoked in walkways sticky furniture stained etc.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willard, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The first thing we noticed was the chair that the person at the front desk was sitting in was about ready to fall apart, you could see the cushion in the seat of the chair. After checking in we went to our room and glanced around. The first big thing we noticed and didn't like was an enormous wet spot on the ceiling above the shower, we were afraid if we took a shower the ceiling would collapse. The other thing we noticed was that the sheets were not the cleanest. We checked the beds for bedbugs but luckily didn't find any. The parking lot was not the cleanest and the outside of the building had a lot of wear and tear on it. We had made reservations for two nights and after looking at the room we went to ask if we could cancel our reservations, we were told "no" but if we stayed the first night we would get a refund for the second night. And that's what we did and stayed at the Super 8 down the street. Also, there was nothing to the breakfast bar, we went to denny's just down the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This started as a great trip... But when we got there there were already people outside smoking weed. The room its self was clean but the people there weren't very family oriented people. There were multiple times when we walked out of our room and saw nasty body parts hanging out. The second night our room wasn't clean, because the maid didn't understand. Because she didn't speak English!! There were very loud and unruly people all throughout the hotel and room service didn't do a good job. Some of the towels were dirty and the sheets had holes in them. Wouldn't recommend this.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3913 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly South Padre Island Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Padre Island Days Hotel South Padre Island
Days Inn South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.