We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3913 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly South Padre Island Days Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stay elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you book here, don't be surprised if it is overcrowded and the small pool is filled with kids. The "breakfast" is obviously an add-on with three tables and six chairs in the hotel office. Parking was tight and we chose the best option which included the street one night.

WIFI, forget it if you are past the first 10 rooms.

Tub slow to drain.

The staff were friendly, but then again we had no formal complaints.

There is a pet fee per night and any number of people over the room limit is $10/night.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here because of the price, make sure you get a room close to the office if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    18
    18
    39
See reviews for
37
31
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guymon, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

My family & I will Never Come back to this hotel! Our first room had a roach, we told the lady in the front we tried showing her the roach she did not care. She gave us another room. It just now turned into an Econolodge by choice hotels. I'll be writing a review on that site as well. The parking lot was so jammed, pool was dirty. We got a 2queen bds with kitchenette, that was kinda convenient. There So called continental breakfast was a JOKE!! No working ice machine. We usually stay at the Travelodge, which I totally recommend. Our expirence was horrible. Samona, or something like that, not too sure the girl's name. I feel she was careless & RUDE when we told her about the roach. I hated my stay at this hotel of horror!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcallen. texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My son and his 14 year old daughter stayed one night while on a fishing trip. Cockroaches in the rooms. Very Spartan living. It appears the staff and management really don't care about the conditions.I would recommend a different motewl in the future.

Room Tip: a different motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The price that we paid to stay at this hotel was over-rated.. customer service was good. But the price was way to much. Adults and kids were spitting in the pool. kids running down the hallway in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I loved the peace and tranquility we were able to experience at this site.
I would definitely recommend a stay at the Days Inn to every person I know will be in the area. Keep up the great work.


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3913 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly South Padre Island Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Padre Island Days Hotel South Padre Island
Days Inn South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.