We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at South Padre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Inn at South Padre to your Saves list
The Inn at South Padre
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1709 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Resort - South Padre Island)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Chandler, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stopped in for the night and found it a great place to relax. This is a small hotel but I was impressed with the pool and the breakfast. They had free breakfast with waffles, eggs, sausage and other regular items. Upon check-in I asked for the best internet rate and got $40 off for each night. The only downside is that they do have water bugs that loo like large cockroaches. I think because they are on the humid Island these bugs happen to be there. If they don't bother you then you will be fine but you will see them. The Manager showed me their book showing they exterminate every month. If I go back to Padre I will stay here. It is an older hotel but for families on a budget it has a small resort feel and the water is just a couple of blocks away. There is a lot to do for families within walking distance like go-carts, seafood buffet, and other things. It made for a lovely vacation.

Room Tip: Get closest to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
15
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel room was not as it was described on the website. It did not have a sleeper sofa, the jacuzzi tub knobs were broken off and the room was filthy. On the plus side, the pool area was nice and the staff was super friendly. Still, it wasn't worth the price and I won't ever stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I sincerely appreciate the staff at this hotel, they were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and spacious and afforded my boyfriend and I, a restful night. Thanks to the Inn staff for recommending an "unchain" breakfast joint.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Inexpensive hotel at SPI.Awesome Hotel.Great breakfast, enough for everyone, even though there was a lot of people.Just make sure you get there early or on time to enjoy your breakfast and the staff was really friendly and wanting to go the extra mile toward your experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, Oklahoma
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Let me start off by saying, the hotel looks NOTHING like the online photos. They do a great job of creating an allusion that this is a top notch hotel. Once you pass the front desk, the halls smell of mold. The carpets are absolutely dirty and the tiles are disgustingly sticky. We got a "King Suite with Jacquzzi". Pieces of the Jacquzzi are falling off, and it looks like at any minute it will fall out of the wall. Mold is all over the place, painted over with white paint. The tile in the rooms is dirty and sticky, so bad that you won't want to walk barefoot on it. The walls have holes and scratches all over them. The refidgerator was missing the temperature knob, we had to use pliers to move it to cool. To top it off, gnats are EVERYWHERE along with mosquitoes. The drains are broken and the walls are paper thin. The housekeepers are terrible, IF they actually clean your room, all they do is replace the towels, fix the bed, and take out your trash. The pool is moldy and dirty...DO NOT STAY HERE. Spend a little more money and stay on the north side of the island. The only reason I even gave it one star is because there is not a "NO STAR" rating. I have no idea how this place passed any type of health inspection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel after a fun time of miniature golf with our friends in the evening, we were "welcomed" by very loud music from a night spot across the street--'til 2pm!! To minimize this loud music, do not take even-numbered rooms nor the end rooms which have a nearby Pier bar with late-night music too! Also, we had to call the front desk as the occupants next door were very loud--at 4 in the morning!! Although they were encountered and temporarily got quieter, the level of noise was easily heard once again through the very thin walls--"sleepless" in South Padre 'til 5am!
This "2 star" level hotel at the price of a "3 star" one, while a good size with 2 queen beds, a sink, and mini-fridge, had a shower with very low water pressure and a tub which felt "soft" upon standing on it. Wi-fi access was inconsistent--1 day of 3! A good thing the staff did was allow us to check in early and moved us (Mary had an excellent attitude to accommodate us) to another room when noise trouble had arisen.
The breakfast included eggs, biscuits, waffles, weak coffee, juice, milk, and cereal; no fruit. Get there early because it gets crowded and seating is ltd. It was on the busy main street and only 2 blocks from the beach with easy access.
Will look elsewhere next time we visit the island--and will consider off-season for beach side hotel at better prices--or look harder during peak. You get what you pay for during the summer season!!

Room Tip: Avoid even-numbered rooms and end rooms to minimize night-life music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

First of all it was overpriced for what we got I advise to stay at the Pearl down the street because its the same price for a better room and view. The building and rooms were outdated including the tube television that had very few channels. The staff was not very helpful and housekeeping took all of our towels and only left two. The pool was dirty and crowded and the jacuzzi wAs the size of a kiddie pool. We had a room with a jacuzzi tub but the dials were broken. Overall terrible experience and I would recommend you stay somewhere else. The photos online are very misleading.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at South Padre

Address: 1709 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Resort - South Padre Island)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at South Padre 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
Howard Johnson South Padre Island
South Padre Island Howard Johnson
s Padre Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at South Padre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;