We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at South Padre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at South Padre to your Saves list
The Inn at South Padre
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1709 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Resort - South Padre Island)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Harlingen, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn at South Padre several times. The rooms have been recently upgraded and the staff are marvelous. They cannot do enough for you. Excellent free breakfast every morning. Great swimming pool, close to beach and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
17
7
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weiser, Idaho
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is very clean and family friendly. The staff are all so attentive also. There is a fairly good size pool with a small jacuzzi and also clean. The breakfast is great with a good variety of hot food. Free WiFi! Sure it is a older place but has been taken care of well.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are on the first floor and have the doors open toward the side road. It would mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Older hotel that has not been maintained. Everything appeared to be dated and worn, especially the towels. Seeing this makes me wonder about what else is being neglected. For the rate we paid, i expected more.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Pam is the manager and Pam is wonderful. Pam cares about her guests. The staff are very nice. The rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. The hotel has a great hot breakfast. Free breakfast. Free parking. Free internet. Free Wifi. In the evening, there was a family friendly movie at the swimming pool area. Free coffee 24/7. A gracious and welcoming hotel. New management is working hard to make this hotel look new again, so expect to see renovations here and there.
Hints: I live a few miles from the Island. I avoid the island on spring break. During spring break, the island gets crowded with young people, and every condominium and hotel has to work to keep crowds of spring breakers who are not guests away from the pool and the free breakfast if they serve breakfast. During spring break, expect extra security like wrist bands and door guards at spring break at many places on the island. Off season, the island is a gracious, slow-moving place that is great for older folks like me. The drive-through part in front of the hotel does not directly lead to the hotel parking lot. You have to circle the block to get back to the hotel parking lot. It’s easier to park on the side of the hotel and walk to the lobby. Pam knows great things to do on the island.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a view, and got a room on the second floor, facing away from the street. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I got this reservation through a local half price special, so my stay was cheap. Still, the first room they gave me had a toilet that sounded like a screeching truck when it flushed and the safe didn't work. We were given two small pillows per bed so we asked for two extra pillows. We had to ask four times for the pillows. By 11:00 that night (pool closes at 10:00) people were out at the pool, very loud, and staff were not in a hurry to close the pool. Doors didn't close well. It is a very friendly place, but they definitely need to work harder to make this worthy of the "resort" description.

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the pool or your sleep will be disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked this hotel for the weekend before the spring break week in Texas. Although, it was a little pricier than other similar quality hotels in the area, we decided to go with it because it had decent reviews at priceine.com and it was in a good location.

Unfortunately, our experience at the hotel was more than frustrating. We booked the hotel through priceline.com and we paid with our credit card in advance.
The moment we arrived, they announced us that because spring break was coming up, we would have to put a security deposit of $250 and that they force their residents to wear wristbands which they check at the entrance to make sure that no outsiders enter the hotel. And that they charge $15 per person for the wristband!!! We were 4 people, so we would have to pay $60 extra!

The reservation policy I got from priceline.com listed that there was no security deposit and did not mention anything about extra charge for the wristbands. I was OK with the deposit, because I knew we weren't going to break anything, but I though the deal with wristbands was ridiculous and I tried to tell them nicely that we shouldn't be paying for the wristbands, since there was no such agreement when we booked the hotel. They did not agree and after a lot of arguing and frustration we decided to pay for the wristbands, since we had not other option. Needless to say that was just a way for them to make money, because nobody really checked if we were wearing a wristband or not when we were entering the hotel. Out of frustration, I actually never wore mine, but nobody ever cared.

As if all that was not enough, I went to check out, they told us that the room we used (2 queen beds) was supposed to be used by 2 persons but we were 4, and so they would have to charge us $40 more. When I asked them why they did not tell us anything when we checked in, although they saw all four of us and gave us four wristbands to wear, they said that they forgot about it!!

Very rude staff. Never using that hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife stayed there for a week as part of her dars training for her blindness. She really loved the room and I really liked it from the one night I stayed there with her. I can tell the manager was really "snappy" with any hotel issues that needed to get done. There was an incident were a leak was coming from the ceiling. Not good when your gonna have a ceremony for people that are blind! She was quick to act. She quickly got maintenance but put a table and a rag on top to soak any water falling. Quick without any hesitation. Breakfast was good but having portable trays heated by sterno cans for biscuits, and eggs seemed kid of weird to me. I work at a holiday inn express and we have a breakfast bar that is completely together and warmed with electricity. The room itself was really nice with electric small stove, mini fridge and microwave. TV is old and the extra door leading to the outside was weird, probably from when it was the Howard Johnson? I can't judge it by price, just be what I saw.

Room Tip: Hot tub outside was awesome and swimming pool is enclosed for privacy from anyone outside hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at South Padre

Address: 1709 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Resort - South Padre Island)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at South Padre 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
Howard Johnson South Padre Island
South Padre Island Howard Johnson
s Padre Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at South Padre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.