We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at South Padre

Save Saved
You added The Inn at South Padre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at South Padre
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1709 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Resort - South Padre Island)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 32 hotels in South Padre Island
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the best weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Myself and the wife came to the island for a weekend stay . Not having reservations we pulled into the hotel and the price was just right for the wife and myself . The front desk staff was supper friendly we got a king size jac. suite the room was really big . Being friday night we were right in the action of the night the fireworks were 3 blocks away but you could see them from the pool . Which was awsome cause we did not have to go very far to see them . Then there was a movie on the wall above the pool for the kids it was great to see that . In the morning there was a breakfast that was eggs and sausage and waffles and coffee, juice , bagels and other things . The morning of our check out the front desk staff was as friendly as the affternoon staff . All together this was a great spur of the moment trip we well be back to this hotel soon . Thanks for a great Stay !!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
14
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Worst hotel I have ever been at never ever come to it. This hotel needs that show hotel:impossible like forreal everything is falling apart there are big nasty roaches. The tv isnt the greatest at all the vending machines are all out of order our room had like bacteria looking stuff growing on the ceiling ill health hazard!!!!!! The towels are nasty it looks like they don't even wash them. This hotel needs remodeling or don't even come to this hotel at all. For breakfast there was lady that checked our tickets to eat breakfast(ridiculous) she was so rude. The doors are messed up , I have been to older hotels than this one and I have never had any problems like the ones I experience at the inn !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We checked in late after driving 6 hours to attend Anime Convention, Banzaikon. We are not too happy with its cleanliness, and the smell of the rooms was horrible. We notified front desk who moved us to another room without anything difference from first. We're very disappointed with the beds as well as beddings and towels.Tables are even dusty.

Hallways are noisy and you can hear your next door guest talking. A/C is unbelievably loud. Service is not too great, they let you wait and ignore you. Very worned out decorations. Will never recommend to family members and friends. Not a very great place for FAMILY.

Room Tip: We don't think there's a GOOD room in this hotel. Try to scout for other hotels in the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

This place was very comfortable ,and execellent location to watch Fireworks on 4th of July.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Fresnos, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Just wanted to say I had a wonderful time.. perfect walking locations to nightlife ...the staff was great...thank you for the memories..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Room didn't have a refrigerator nor an iron but besides that Horrible in every way possible I will never ever stay here again EVER

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Staff was so rude from the minute we walked in. They had sent me an e-mail a week before out reservation saying we didn't need to call everything was going to be fine. I get there and the manager drops a $50 deposit fee on me for each of us that were staying. He told me I should have called and I would have found out about it (we weren't financially prepared for losing $150) and it was no where on the booking info or website. Me and two other friends counted a total of 23 bodily fluid stains on the chairs, floor, and bedding. The sheets had not been changed from the last visit (there was trash still under the covers from who ever stayed there last.) Every morning I would find cockroaches in the bathroom....as if any of the above isn't gross enough....I will NEVER recommend or return to this forsaken hotel. Absolutely a let down and COMPLETE waste of money. I should have paid $30 a night instead of $120 for this terrible, horrible place.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at South Padre

Address: 1709 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Resort - South Padre Island)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at South Padre 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Inn at South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
Howard Johnson South Padre Island
South Padre Island Howard Johnson
s Padre Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at South Padre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.