We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Reasonable Prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cap'n Roy's

Cap'n Roy's
1313 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
(956) 761-9990
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
South Padre Island, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We are locals and really enjoy Cap'n Roys. The food is good and is a good value. I can't eat the championship shrimp dish because I can't eat peppers but everyone else raves about it. I enjoy all the other fresh food, seafood or Mexican. Cap'n Roy is frequently there visiting with customers, making sure they have what they need. It isn't loud; you can sit and visit in comfort.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    133
    53
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Bacon wrapped shrimp were the specialty but my girlfriend makes better. The fish taco's were very good. The place were virtually empty when we were there so I'd imagine reading the other reviews, its at its best when its packed. We thought it was overpriced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Top place to eat on south padre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great fish tacos! Great fish and shrimp platter. Defintely recommend it for seafood on the island. Doesn't look like much from outside but cute inside, great service and great seafood

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best fish taco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

cute little place on the main drag with fun sayings on the sign. . . and really good fish tacos. Survice was nice too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Festus, MO
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Awesome Fish Tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Everytime I go to SPI, I have to stop by here for the fish tacos. My fiance said he is now ruined and will be on a mission to find fish tacos as good as these back home. Good luck, cause these are the best!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Roy's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cap'n Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap'n Roy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.