We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Seafood without the tourist overcharge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cap'n Roy's

Cap'n Roy's
1313 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
(956) 761-9990
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Seafood without the tourist overcharge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

After reading the reviews we decided to give Roy's a try, what a great little place in a tourist town. I'm always afraid of eating seafood out when I don't know the place, even more so when it is in a tourist town. Roy's was good enough that I would go there if I was a local, the fish was fresh and flaky and the shrimp was firm and well cooked.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    125
    50
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nacogdoches, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We ate here for lunch hoping for decent food and we got better. We ordered the chicken quesadilla, fried shrimp basket and the fish fillet plate. It was all wonderful. Hot and crispy were it's supposed to be and cool yummy fumi salad(coleslaw). Not a very fancy place and the atmosphere is somewhat lacking but the food well made up for it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I went to the restaurant at noon. Don't order "Oyster on ice". Very disappointing dish. Grilled Shrimps and fumi salad were great. Recommend their champion specials and French-fry.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

After a 9 hour ride to South Padre we left our vacation home in the search for a restaurant recommended to us. After discovering that restaurant was closed we desperately stopped here and thought "eh what the heck" and gave it a try. It was absolutely amazing! It's very small, but the food is authentic and wonderful.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“good food, excellent 'coleslaw'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Capt Roy's has the most interesting coleslaw. I think they call it fumi salad. Ask them when you're there. I'm a picky eater, so anything 'different' I usually stay away from. The fried shrimp is great. A friend had the fish tacos and said they were outstanding. It's nice, casual, and not over the top on the price.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Roy's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cap'n Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap'n Roy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.