We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Street Pier Restaurant and Bar

Palm Street Pier Restaurant and Bar
204 W Palm St, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6717
956-772-7256
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Food is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

It is on a pier on the bay side. The food is good and the service is okay. They have daily specials. It is the best seafood
And their pi boys are good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    57
    15
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south padre island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have not been here in a long time, the place has changed hands several times the last few years. I went to hear Chuck Comeaux and friends on a Sunday night. Chuck has been around the Island quite a few years as a musician and entertainer. I am happy to say they did not disappoint. Great trio consisting of guitar bass and drums. They played a lot of old rock n roll from my era, and the Stevie Ray songs were outstanding. Lots of Beatles and Bob Marley too. Really entertaining to hear live music when so much of the Island is using tracks....boring. The drinks were good and the prices reasonable. AS for the food, i only had chips, can't really critique the food. However, the staff was friendly and there were a lot of locals around.....that all by itself says a lot. Would recommend for the sunset and general Island feel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The service is TERRIBLE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've reviewed palm street before, and my thoughts are the same: fabulous view, great nachos, bad service. I understand that the management has changed hands yet again, but this manager seems worse than any of his predecessors.

I was sitting at a table with my parents (who always want to catch a sunset here when they visit from Dallas). No one paid any attention to us. After about 10 minutes, we waived down the manager and told him that no one seemed to know they had our table, and we asked him if he could take our drink order and send someone our way. We got our drinks, but he failed to tell anyone to pick up our table. After sitting there a while with empty beer bottles in front of us, we found our own waiter, and although reluctant to pick up our table, he wasn't a terrible server. But by this time, we had already been here a long time, and the manager knew 10 minutes in that no one was waiting on us and he did NOTHING to remedy it.

To give you an idea of how long we were ignored: We ordered within a couple of minutes of finally getting menus and our food came out relatively promptly. We arrived at 7:30 and didn't get food until 9:15.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stubbled into this open air bar and grill....went back a few times. Great food, good drinks and fantastic bayside view. Great to watch Friday night fireworks. Band plays great music, not loud enough to drown out conversation, but enough to enjoy at your table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to watch fireworks on the bay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Make a reservation as the best seats will fill quick. Good food and drinks. Service is good. Live acustic music most of the time. We could do without the same patriotic music being played while the fireworks go off. The same song played over and over again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Street Pier Restaurant and Bar also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Palm Street Pier Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Street Pier Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.